Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Snowy Wilson Memorial Criterium

Heffron Park, Maroubra, NSW, October 30, 2005

Why me - why not!

By Anthony Tan

... Whyman (R) throws his bike...
Photo ©: Anthony Tan
Click for larger image

Kitted to the nines in Lance Armstrong's signature line of 10/2 clothing and a Trek bike to boot, Randwick Botany/FRF Couriers rider David Whyman won a photo finish sprint against Liam Kelly to take out the 2005 Snowy Wilson Memorial Criterium sponsored by FRF Couriers.

Both Whyman and Kelly were just two of the favourites going into the final race of the day, the two reversing their positions in the U19/U23/Elite Men's handicap held just an hour before. In the 10 lap/20km event, the scratch bunch managed to catch the four back-marker groups with around four laps remaining before Kelly broke away on his own with two laps to go.

A big bunch crests the second hill
Click for larger image
Liam Kelly wins earlier in the day
Click for larger image
One of the groups
Click for larger image

With his head down, bum up and chain floating in the 12 cog, King Liam impressively held off a large-sized chasing bunch to enjoy a well-earned victory - and even had the time to look over his shoulder at the sprint for second, which was narrowly won by Whyman. Cyclingnews' Chief Editor, Jeff Jones, recently returned from deep, dark (and always rainy) Belgium three days ago, spent much of his time getting over his jet-lag at the back of the scratch bunch, but returned to the fore when it mattered and won the sprint for sixth.

However, a few more riders were saving themselves for the big race of the day, the Snowy Wilson Memorial Criterium, held in honour and memory of Alfred C 'Snow' WIlson and a member of today's organising club for most of his life.

This time, the 100-plus riders were split into four groups, ranging from Group 1 starting off first, Group 2 commencing two minutes later, Group 3 3'15 after them, and the scratch bunch leaving last, needing to make up a 4'45 deficit if one of them were to take out 'The Snowy'.

Once again, the race began under warm, sunny skies, and despite having the largest bunch, it was the scratchies who got themselves well organised early on, while the other grades appeared to lack cohesion. As a consequence, it was all together by the midway mark of the 12 lap/24km event - much too early for any of the back marker riders to stand a chance against more than a few pairs of the fresh and powerful legs that comprised the scratch group.

With four laps remaining, it was previous race winner Liam Kelly and Australian U23 national team member Robbie Cater who drove the pace to create the winning move, with Peter Milostic (Penrith Panthers), Josh Fleming (Sutherland Shire CC/Endeavour Cycles), David Whyman (Randwick Botany CC/FRF Couriers) in there as well, along with two others.

Once established, the break never looked like coming back, and in a six-man sprint, it was Kelly and Whyman who were neck and neck all the way to the line, with commissaires taking plenty of time before Whyman was voted the winner, courtesy of an excellent bike throw right when he needed it.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Anthony Tan/


Snowy Wilson Memorial Criterium, 12 laps/ 24 km
1 David Whyman (Randwick Botany CC/FRF Couriers)                    
2 Liam Kelly          
3 Robert Cater (Randwick Botany CC/FRF Couriers)                    
U19/U23/Elite Men's Handicap, 10 laps/ 20 km
1 Liam Kelly
2 David Whyman (Randwick Botany CC/FRF Couriers)                    
More detailed results to follow

Local results 2004