Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

October 18, 2003

Hennessy by a half

Taking into account the light rain and large number of riders going up to Sydney for the Southern Hemisphere Cup on Sunday, the twenty nine riders who turned up for the 27km scratch races was quite a respectable number.

Danny Hennessy got the better of Tim Morris in a very tight finish, in the A grade event, after they had disposed of the other two riders in their breakaway group on the last turn at Hooker hill.

Hennessy, Morris, Peter Jones and Adam Rourke had created a formidable little group early on in the race and gave the rest of the bunch no chance of getting back on. Jones outsprinted Rourke for third place.

Six riders got away from the rest of the group early on in the B grade race and worked well to maintain their advantage. Unfortunately for Frank Tortorici he punctured.

Rob Calladine did some very long turns and had the other riders gasping for air on a few occasions.

Gil Rutty just edged out Austin Pitman to take a well-deserved win and they inturn were closely followed over the line by Calladine.

Thirteen riders started off in the C grade race and nine were in the finishing bunch. New rider Darren Toms didn't shirk his share of the work and was ably assisted by Mal Moss, Dean Kelly, Peter Evans, Phil Jones and Michael Comensoli.

Comensoli did more than his share of work on the front and paid for it in the last kilometre when the pace picked up.

In a close three up sprint the judges decision went to Moss, Toms and Kelly.

Next week's race is a 27km handicap, any riders who have not already entered should contact Lionel on 42269278. Group 6 is to marshal.


A Grade - 27.0km
1 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)       38.58
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)               
3 Peter Jones (Illawarra)          0.21
4 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)              
5 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)     1.36
6 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)           3.25
7 Grant Law (Illawarra)            3.59
8 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)            
B Grade - 27.0km
1 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)           40.45
2 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)            
3 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)        0.03
4 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)           
5 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)    0.09
6 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)     2.47
7 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)             
8 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)      7.03
C Grade - 27.0km
1 Mal Moss (Illawarra)            43.31
2 Darren Toms (Illawarra)              
3 Dean Kelly (Nowra)                   
4 Warren Poole (Illawarra)         0.03
5 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)                
6 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)        
7 Peter Evans (Illawarra)              
8 Philip Jones (Illawarra)             
9 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)        0.11
10 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)         0.37
11 Roger Phillips (Illawarra)      3.51
DNF Tony Burke (Illawarra)             
DNF Carlo Paiola (Marconi)              

Australian results from the past week

Burnie 20
St Kilda CC
VLCC Jack Conyers Memorial
Longford-Campbell Classic
Carnegie Caulfield CC
CATS CC - September 21
CATS CC - October 12
Randwick Botany CC
Illawarra CC/Sutherland Club Championships


Complete Australian results for 2003