Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Scratch Race

June 28, 2003

Mathiske too good

Guy Mathiske showed that he was a class above the other riders in the A grade 44.5km scratch race last Saturday. In a very dominant ride he broke away from the riders on the first lap and was away for about 10km. He waited until the climb up Marshall on the second lap and again surged away from the bunch and rode solo to the line to win by 43 seconds, in a time of 1:12:05.

The young guns in Josh Wall, Brett Townsend and Mitchell Pearson were very active in the main group. Not to be out done by their younger counterparts Tim Morris and Craig Williams put in a good ride also.

In a very close finish Morris just edged Pearson out for second place.

Greg Nelson and Mark Walters showed the other eight riders in the A1 grade race a clean pair of wheels after attacking on Marshall Mount. The two rode a two person time trial for over 35km and finished 2:07 in front of the chasers in a time of 1:14:27. In a fiercely contested sprint Nelson was victorious.

There were six riders up for the third place sprint. Although he had suffered a bit during the race it was Richard Lorenc who snatched the third place overall.

The B grade race was very tough with Fiona Campbell and Phil Jones serving it up to the other riders. The two attacked on the climb up Marshall Mount on the first lap and it was only due to a mammoth effort by Dave Morris that he and Scott Turnbull got back in touch several kilometres up the road.

Campbell and Jones again tried on the climbs on the second lap but were unable to shake the others, until the final climb up Hooker hill when Morris lost touch.

Turnbull showed his sprinting prowess and won by several lengths from Jones and Campbell.

In the best C grade race for quite a while seven riders lined up for their 37.5km scratch race. Only one rider lost contact over the first 30km.

The riders were fairly evenly matched with the majority of the work being done by Vince O'Dwyer, Greg Fisher and Warren Poole. Even though there were several attempted breakaways on the climbs, five riders lined up for the sprint finish.

O'Dwyer was too quick winning from Fisher and Poole, with Terry Wall and Jack Laajoki close behind.

Next week's race is the Barbara Wyles' 54km handicap. It will start at 1pm, riders wishing to enter should contact Lionel Covington. Group 4 is to marshal.

A Grade - 44.5km
1 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)           1.12.05
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)                0.43
3 Mitchell Pearson (Eurobodalla)
4 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
5 Bret Townsend (Eurobodalla)
6 Craig Williams (Illawarra)
7 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)             2.36
8 Grant Law (Illawarra)
DNF Peter Jones (Illawarra)
DNF Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
A - 1 Grade - 44.5km
1 Greg Nelson (ACT)                  1.14.27
2 Mark Walters (Sth Highlands)
3 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)            2.07
4 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
5 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)
6 David Russell (Illawarra)
7 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
8 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)             2.25
9 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)          3.18
10 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)           5.51
C Grade - 37.5km
1 Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)          1.09.28
2 Greg Fisher (Illawarra)
3 Warren Poole (Illawarra)
4 Terry Wall (Illawarra)
5 Jackko Laajokki (Illawarra)
6 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)               1.56
DNF Les Hewitt (Illawarra)
B Grade - 44.5km
1 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)         1.20.52
2 Philip Jones (Illawarra)
3 Fiona Campbell (Illawarra)
4 Dave Morris (Illawarra)               1.15
5 Lou Caruana (Illawarra)               6.50
DNF Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)
DNF Dean Kelly (Nowra) 

Australian results from the past week

Northern Districts CC
Central Coast CC Winter Series - June 14
Central Coast CC Winter Series - June 21
Illawarra CC
Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC - Sonny Barnes Handicap
Canberra CC - Stephen Merz Memorial
Southern Cross CC TT Champs


Complete Australian results for 2003