Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

June 14, 2003

The Law wins again

A cool windy winter's day greeted the riders at Caesars Illawarra Cycle Club course at West Dapto on Sunday but it was not enough to keep too many riders away. Just on 40 riders competed in the main event, a 56km handicap. While the wind was not extremely high, it would make life difficult for the riders to ride into.

The scratch markers would have a good challenge of hauling in the limit marker of Les Hewitt (25:00) over the 3 laps to Marshall Mount Hall. But with the likes of Luke Dale, Josh Wall and Tim Morris, it was a task that could be achieved. The question was could they catch the block group of Grant Law, Neil Midgley, Dylan Forbes and Jeff Gray who had a 4 minute start on them.

By the end of the 2nd lap, the scratchies had a deficit of 3 minutes on the leading group of Andrew Brooks and Greg Fisher (05:00). The Block group of Law, Midgley, Gray had caught several of the leading riders including Austin Pitman(20:00) and Tony Pulo(18:00) and were a minute down on the leaders - and closing in fast.

In the final sprint, the Block group had made up the deficit to the leaders and was now on the front of the race. The group of 6 riders had held out the scratchies and were no scrambling to take out the honours on the line. Forbes and Midgley were giving it all they could, but Law a NSW State Track Champion was the better sprinter and was able to make his way around the group to take line honours from Midgley and Forbes.

The scratchies were less than 2 minutes behind as they crossed the line with Mal Moss leading them home in the sprint. Peter Jones (25:00) was able to cross the line in front of fellow scratch markers Morris and Dale to claim Fastest Time (1:27:09) on the day.

Nest week is the Club Time Trial Championships with Volunteers required to marshal for the event. Could those able to assist, please let the committee know of your availability.

Results, 56 km handicap

1 Grant Law (Illawarra)
2 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
3 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
4 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
5 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)
6 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)
7 Martin Mullin (Canberra)
8 Peter Jones (Illawarra)
9 Tim Morris (Illawarra)
10 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
11 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
12 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
13 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)
14 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
15 Philip Jones (Illawarra)
16 David Russel (Illawarra)
17 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
18 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
19 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)
20 Carlo Paiola (Marconi)
21 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)
22 Fiona Campbell (Illawarra)
23 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
24 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)
25 Greg Fisher (Illawarra)
26 Warren Poole (Illawarra)
27 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
28 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)
DNF Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)
DNF Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
DNF Brian Cockshot (Macarthur)
DNF Dean Kelly (Nowra)
DNF Terry Wall (Illawarra)
DNF Mark O`Keefe (Illawarra)
DNF Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
DNF Les Hewitt (Illawarra)
Fastest time: Steve Franklin (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Southern Cross CC
Tasmanian Road Championships
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Illawarra CC - Graeme Catterall Memorial
Central Coast CC - Ray Piper Memorial
Randwick Botany CC - Snowy Wilson Memorial


Complete Australian results for 2003