Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Club Road Championships

July 26, 2003

Tim Morris crowned Club Champion

Forty four hardy souls braved the very tough conditions for the Club Road Championships last Saturday afternoon.

The elite Club championship race was an excellent display of grim determination and guts. With the strong tail wind at the start Mark Wall and Kirk Brown went on the attack but they were caught 4km later on the top of Hooker hill. What ended up being the turning point in the race started by Steve Franklin powering of the front into the severe headwind, he was quickly joined by Morris. The two built a lead of nearly a hundred meters before Craig Williams exploded from the main bunch and made contact with them on the top of Marshall Mount.

The trio worked very well together and pulled away from the disorganised chasers.

On the second climb up Marshall Mount Morris put the pedal down and only Williams was able to go with him. The two worked as a team all the way to the finish where Morris was too strong and won convincingly in the sprint. Franklin crossed the line almost five minutes later.

Twelve riders set off in the Masters championship race. The climb up Marshall Mount and the strong head winds were also decisive. When the riders topped Marshall Mount the second time there were only three riders in contention.

Jeff Gray, still on a high from last week's Interclub race, had ridden aggressively all race and was in the break with Dylan Forbes and Adam Rourke. Khalid Ali had ridden well and was only 10 seconds behind.

Gray led the sprint out but Forbes was too strong, Rourke was unable to catch Forbes as well. The result was Forbes, Rourke and Gray.

Six out of the ten rider bunch was still together with 2km to go in the B grade race. Mitchell Burns came from the back of the group and quickly pulled away and was not headed all the way to the line. Gavin Drury held off Stuart Binns and Ben Lohse for second place 14 seconds behind Burns.

Lou Caruana revelled in the tough conditions and was too strong for the rest of the C grade bunch and won by 3 minutes. Bethany McCarthy tried on several occasions on the run into the finish to break up the bunch but was too closely marked. In a five up sprint for second place, Peter Vesel was victorious over Warren Poole.

Roger Phillips rode strongly in winning D grade, as did Les Hewitt in the E grade event.

Next week's race is a 44.5km handicap, anyone who hasn't already entered should do so with Lionel Covington. Group 6 are to provide marshals. Entries close next week for the Nowra Interclub.


Elite - 62.0km
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)                1.43.40
2 Craig Williams (Illawarra)
3 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)               4.51
DNF Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)
DNF Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
DNF Peter Jones (Illawarra)
DNF Josh Wall (Illawarra)
DNF Mark Wall (Sutherland Shire)
DNF Kirk Brown (Illawarra)
B Grade - 44.5km
1 Mitchell Burns (Illawarra)            1.21.02
2 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)                  0.14
3 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)
4 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
5 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)              0.30
6 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)               5.45
DNF Philip Jones (Illawarra)
DNF Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)
DNF Terry Welsh (Illawarra)
DNF Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
C Grade - 41.0km
1 Lou Caruana (Illawarra)               1.15.28
2 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)                  3.03
3 Warren Poole (Illawarra)
4 Bethany McCarthy (Illawarra)
5 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)
6 Mark O`Keefe (Illawarra)
7 Greg Fisher (Illawarra)                  4.02
DNF Emma Ringer (Illawarra)
DNF Jaclyn Kejda (Illawarra)
D Grade - 37.5km
1 Roger Phillips (Illawarra)            1.19.24
DNF Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)
E Grade - 37.5km
1 Les Hewitt (Illawarra)                1.59.13
Masters - 44.5km
1 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)              1.16.16
2 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
3 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
4 Khalid Ali (Illawarra)                   0.09
5 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)                 1.15
6 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)
7 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
8 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)               3.45
DNF Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
DNF Tim Devlin (Illawarra)
DNF Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
DNF Dave Morris (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Quamby Classic
Velo Tour Race #4
Macarthur/Leppington Interclub


Complete Australian results for 2003