Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Scratch Race

July 12, 2003

Mathiske by a half-tyre

A crisp clear gusty afternoon greeted the thirty nine riders lined up for the Caesar’s Illawarra Cycle Club scratch races.

The A grade bunch set a cracking pace for the first part of their 44.5km race with the tail wind but then settled down. Nearly every rider tried to get away at one stage or another but no one succeeded.

Just after the descent of Hooker hill heading for the finish the bunch was still together, Guy Mathiske exploded from the bunch and opened up a reasonable gap. With just over a kilometre to go Josh Wall and Tim Morris bridged across to him.

Wall immediately counter attacked but Mathiske quickly closed the move down. Mathiske led the sprint out with Morris on his wheel and Wall close behind. That was the way they crossed the line in a time of 1:13:10.

The A1 grade 44.5km race was a very similar scenario to the A grade event. After a few riders chanced their hand with an attack and the bunch splitting on Marshall Mount hill the bunch regrouped and was mostly all together on the climb up Hooker hill.

Rob Calladine attacked on the top of Hooker hill with only Gil Rutty able to go with him. The two gradually drew away from the bunch. Kirk Brown then set off in pursuit and was quickly joined by Frank Tortorici.

With 2km to go Tortorici and Brown joined the two leaders, they group of four were about fifteen seconds in front of the chasers.

As the leaders entered the finishing straight Tortorici started the sprint off. Brown and Rutty sat in his slip stream till the final 100m when the launched their own bid for the win. Tortorici just held on by the slimmest of margins from Brown and Rutty, their time was 1:16:23.

After doing a lot of work and closing gaps during the race Lionel Covington crossed the line in a well deserved forth place 14 seconds behind the winner.

B and C grade rode together for their 41km event. The combined group had sixteen riders, which was good experience for the C grade riders in particular.

Riding up the steep side of Marshall Mount, coping with the strong gusty winds and numerous attacks was quite demanding but ten riders were still in the bunch as they approached the finish line.

Mal Moss led the sprint out and was strongly challenged by Warren Poole and Paul Kaye but held on for a good win. The B grade result was Moss, Paul DuBois and Dean Kelly. C grade was Poole, Kaye and Alan McClelland.

There is no local race next week due to the Macarthur Interclub race. The following week is the Club Road Championships, they will start at 1pm and volunteers are required to Marshall. Please contact Garry Doughty if you can assist.


D Grade, 22.5km
1 Les Hewitt (Illawarra)              58.54
B Grade, 41.0km
1 Mal Moss (Illawarra)              1.14.51
2 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)
3 Dean Kelly (Nowra)
4 Mark O`Keefe (Illawarra)             4.54
5 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)              7.09
C Grade, 41.0km
1 Warren Poole (Illawarra)          1.14.51
2 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
3 Alan McClelland (Illawarra)
4 Marco Comensoli (Illawarra)
5 Anna Habeck (Illawarra)
6 Terry Wall (Illawarra)
7 Roger Phillips (Illawarra)           5.33
8 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)              6.46
9 Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)            7.50
10 Marco Ciccarelli (Illawarra)
A-1 Grade, 44.5km
1 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)       1.16.23
2 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)
3 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)
4 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
5 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)         0.14
6 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
7 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
8 Mitchell Burns (Illawarra)           0.28
DNF Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
DNF Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)
DNF Jose Pereira (Illawarra)
DNF Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)
DNF Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
A Grade, 44.5km
1 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)          1.13.10
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)
3 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
4 Craig Williams (Illawarra)           0.03
5 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)              0.07
6 Peter Jones (Illawarra)
7 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)            0.18
8 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
9 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)             5.27
DNF Andrew Shepherd (Macarthur)

Australian results from the past week

Pt Fairy CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Illawarra CC Handicap
Randwick Botany CC


Complete Australian results for 2003