Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Sandown Raceway, December 23, 2003

By Mal Sawford

A special visitor
Photo ©: Mal Sawford

Carnegie Caulfield's final race for the year saw a good field of just under 200 assemble in near perfect weather conditions, for one last chance to burn some calories before the Christmas season carbo load! Club racing will resume at Glenvale Crescent on January 4.

A Grade

The A Grade race commenced with a flurry of attacks: the MG-ZT pair of Mikkeli Godfree and Paul Richards were active, along with regular contenders Hilton Clarke (SBR) and Robert Tighello (Genovese Coffee/ACR). Newly promoted Under 17 star Mario Giramondo (Giramondo Sportswear) was also quickly on the attack, not all over-awed by the step up to the big leagues.

In the opening laps, each attack saw a quick response from the bunch, before the winning move was instigated by Godfree at the fifteen minute mark. Initially accompanied by Clarke, he opened a gap flying along the main straight, which saw the chase briefly suspended. Your optimistic correspondent bridged across towards the end of the lap, before deciding that it would be far easier to report on the chase from the shelter at the rear of the field a lap later!

The two leaders held their advantage at ten seconds for a few laps of the 3.1km circuit, before Tighello burst from the back on the uphill drag along the back straight. Barcelona Olympian Rob Crowe (BikeNOW) also put the hammer down, and the pair joined the leaders at the top of the climb. The chase was primarily driven by Giramondo and Victorian team mate Pat Shaw, with Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles) and Guy Green (Le Tour Cycles) also doing more than their share.

When Justin Davis (O'Mara Cycles) added his horsepower to the chase, a regrouping looked possible, but with ten minutes remaining the unthinkable happened - big Justin got tired and drifted to the back of the field. Last' weeks winner, Ray Turner (Bianchi), saw the gap start to open again and made a big effort to bridge on the climb but came up short, while out front Tighello and Clarke were starting to attack each other.

Tighello eventually broke free just after the bell, with the four leaders splintering on the final climb. Tighello comfortably took the win, ahead of Clarke and Crowe, while Godfree managed to hold off the charge from the sprinters to salvage fourth. Dylan Boone (Fitzroy Cycles) led the bunch in, closely followed by Simon Walker (Victorian State Home Loans).

B Grade

Without much wind to add to the difficulty of the circuit, the big B Grade bunch stayed intact for the duration, and the result was determined by a bunch sprint. Disappointed to have lost the 'forgotten sprinter' tag to Frank Cipriano, Darren Cathie showed that he can still finish very quickly, taking the win in style. Greg Nicholson, who has made a habit of attacking on the final climb, tried something different, and came up with second in the dash to the line, ahead of Matt Jensen and break away specialist Bruce Will. Emma Rickards (Richmond Cyclery) took out the premier Women's division ahead of Rebecca McConnell.

C Grade

Bunch sprints also decided the results of the C and D Grade races, with Lucas Sproson victorious in C Grade. Cheryl Walker (Victorian State Home Loans) rode her last C Grade race, with an outstanding second place finish, ahead of fellow speed skater Craig Hawke and Luke Postlethwaite. Walker's great result, and the accompanying win in the Women's division saw her move into second place in the $7000 Team Alex series, within striking distance of long time leader Simon Lancaster. Briana James (SBR) continues to impress, riding to a second place finish in the Women's division.

D Grade

Under 15 dynamo Peter Johnstone (O'Mara Cycles) sprinted to the win in D Grade, ahead of Veteran campaigners Brian Dew and Bill Upston, with Jason Gelsi fourth. Her first race fall on the final lap saw Lisa Friend (Bianchi) out of the places for the first time this season, with the tumble seeing Keith Revell off to hospital with a suspected broken collar bone, but still with a smile on his face! In Friend's absence, Bee Hanson took the Women's win, ahead of pocket rocket Livia Gluchowska.

19 rounds in, the Team Alex Series leader board is getting congested. Lancaster leads with 94 points, while Cheryl Walker (81) and Matt Jensen (77) have made big inroads. Paul Kelly and Warren Knevitt lead the A Grade contenders on 67. Cheryl Walker leads the Women ahead of Lisa Friend (63) and Ferne Walklate with 60. Merry Christmas, and a happy and safe New Year to all from Carnegie Caulfield, and we hope Santa stops by your favourite bike shop before his trip down the chimney! Thanks again to all the volunteer officials, including regulars Jack McGowan (Gate Keeper), Lorraine Collings (entries), John Groves (prize money), Ann Johnstone (entries and photos) , Jodie Bowker (licensing), Doug Moody (canteen, clothing & website) and the staff at Sandown International Raceway who have made racing this season so successful.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue in the New Year every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). Twilight races are held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown racecourse, on the car racing circuit, with all grades starting at 6.30pm. Entry is via Sandown Rd, from 5.30pm.

All holders of 2003 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2004 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, including information and standings for the Team Alex series, check out


Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 40 starters
1 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Hilton Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Mikkeli Godfree (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)
6 Simon Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 58 starters
1 Darren Cathie (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Greg Nicholson (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Matt Jensen (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Bruce Will (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Peter Galvin (St Kilda)
1 Emma Rickards (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Rebecca McConnell (Northcote)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 42 starters
1 Lucas Sproson (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Cheryl Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Craig Hawke (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Luke Postlethwaite (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Cheryl Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Briana James (St Kilda)
3 Nicky Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 40 starters
1 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula)
2 Brian Dew (Echuca)
3 Bill Upston (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Jason Gelsi (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Birthe Hansen (Blackburn)
2 Livia Gluchowska (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Kylie-Ann Richards (Coburg)
E Grade, 44 minutes + 2 laps, 40 starters
1 Celia Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Beate Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Kasey Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)

Local results 2003