Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Handicap

April 19, 2003

Burns on fire

Young Mitchel Burns opened his account at the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club handicap last Saturday. Together with Joe Pereira he finished just half a minute ahead of surviving scratch riders Craig Williams and Adam Rourke.

Moderate southeast winds tested the riders' depth of fitness on both outward legs of the 41 kilometer event which saw riders climb the steep side of Marshall Mount on lap one. The tough conditions saw a third of the field retire and 3 flat tyres.

The eight and nine minute bunches were the first to combine at Marshall Mount on the first lap. Pereira and Burns rode away from the combined group climbing the steep side and set out after the twelve minute bunch and the two limit riders.

Meanwhile scratch was down to just Rourke and Williams with Steve Franklin having cooked himself in the headwind.

At the end of lap one Pereira and Burns were leading the race and maintaining enough gap to look hopeful. The remainder of the middle bunches were now mostly together with a chance of riding down the leaders. Remaining scratchies Williams and Rourke had caught block and second block and were working well together reducing the gap to just over a minute on the final climb up hooker hill.

Burns used his youth to finish ahead of a tiring Pereira at the finish. The chase group was lead across the line by Williams and Rourke just 36 seconds later.

Next week's race is a 44 kilometer scratch race with group 7 providing marshals.

Results, 41.0km

1 Mitchell Burns (Illawarra)
2 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)
3 Craig Williams (Illawarra)
4 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
5 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
6 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
7 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)
8 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
9 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)
10 Alan McClelland (Illawarra)
11 Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)
12 David Russel (Illawarra)
13 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
14 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)
15 Dean Kelly (Nowra)
16 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
17 Philip Jones (Illawarra)
18 Warren Poole (Illawarra)
19 Mark O'Keefe (Illawarra)
20 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)
21 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)



Australian results from the past week

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Illawarra CC Scratch Race
Randwick Botany CC
Maryborough CC
Murwillumbah CC


Complete Australian results for 2003