Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Cascade Classic - NE

Bend, Oregon, USA, July 9-13, 2003

2002 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - July 9: Pacific Power Road Race, 110 miles
  • Stage 2 - July 10: Deschutes Brewery Road Race, 70 miles
  • Stage 3- July 11: RCS Rental Service Tumalo Time Trial, 7 miles
  • Stage 4 - July 11: Desert Bone and Joint Specialists/Rebound Physical Therapy Twilight Criterium, 60/40 min & 5 laps
  • Stage 5 - July 12: Leffel Center Awbrey Butte Circuit Race, 82/58 miles
  • Stage 6 - July 13: Carrera Motors | VW Old Mill District Criterium, 60/40 min & 5 laps

Saturn/Navigators showdown expected at Cascade Classic

The 24th edition of the Columbia River Bank Cascade Cycling Classic kicks off in Bend, Oregon on Wednesday, July 9. One of America's longest running stage races will see some of the country's best professional cyclists race over the rugged Cascade Mountains during the five day/six stage event (four days and five stages for the pro women).

The first stage for the pro men will take the riders up and over the extinct volcanoes of the Three Sisters Mountains and along the scenic Cascade Lakes Highway in the 100 mile stage. The women join the men the following day for the epic climb up the McKenzie Pass, which is famous for its steep switchback ascent and moonlike lava fields over the top of the climb. With 7,000 feet of climbing, this will be a stage for the climbers

The road races set the scene for a 7 mile time trial on Friday, July 11 over a rolling course that will give the strong time-trialists an opportunity to gain back time on the pure climbers. The time trial is followed that evening by a twilight criterium held under the lights in front of thousands of bike crazy fans in downtown Bend.

Saturday, July 12 is a new stage for the race will include multiple laps of a 13 mile hilly circuit just north of Bend. With over 900 feet of climbing per lap and the dreaded Wyndmere headwall with a maximum gradient of 15%, this stage will surely see some time gaps among the favourites. The final event on Sunday will test the sprinters with a blazing fast criterium held in the Old Mill shopping district overlooking the Deschutes River.

Chris Wherry will be back to defend his title riding for the Navigators team. He will face stiff competition from team Saturn and its leader Chris Horner. This is a local race for Horner who lives just 20 miles south of Bend. Former winner, Jonathan Vaughters, will also be here with his Prime Alliance squad.

The race roster includes the men's professional teams Saturn, Navigators, Trek/VW All Stars, Prime Alliance, Broadmark Capital, Schroeder Iron, Minute Maid-Dasani, KB Home Cycling Team, Bike Gallery/Trek/VW, Healthy Choice-Guru's, Sierra Nevada/Cliff Bar, U.S. Postal Service, iomega-ORBEA, Webcor Cycling Team,, and Eclipse Racing

A strong women's field will include Saturn riders Lyn Bessette and former winner Jessica Phillips, Team Basis riders Nicole Freedman and Heather Albert, as well as a full squad from the Minute Maid/Dasani/Lagrange team.

The professional women's race roster includes teams Saturn, AltoVelo/Webcor, Team Basis, Minute Maid/Dasani/LaGrange, Goldy's, BikeGallery/TrekVW, ICO

For more information visit the website


Start list


Past winners

2002 Chris Wherry (USA) Mercury                 Kimberly Bruckner (USA) Saturn
2001 (3) Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury-Viatel  
2000 (2) Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury
1999 Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury
1998 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal Service
1997 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Comptel
1996 Marty Jemison (USA) Subaru
1995 (3) Mike Englemann (USA) Team Shaklee
1994 (2) Mike Englemann (USA) Coors
1993 Bart Bowen (USA) Subaru
1992 Cezary Zamana (POL) Subaru
1991 Greg Oravetz (USA) Coors
1990 Mike Englemann (USA) Alpine
1989 Mike Carter (USA) Wheaties-Schwinn
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,