Australian National Club Road Championships
Incorporating The Mooloolaba Masters Week

Mooloolaba, Qld, September 17 - 22, 2001

Results    Pairs Time Trial    Individual Time Trial

Day 1 Road Races - Sutton follows in father's footsteps

Chris Sutton from the powerful St George Cycling Club in Sydney seems destined to follow in the footsteps of his father, multiple Australian titleholder, Garry Sutton, following his convincing win in the Under 19 National Road Cycling Championships on the Sunshine Coast of Queensland today.

Sutton lead a bunch sprint finish down the 300 metre long straight after 98 kilometres of the gruelling four lap, hilly course. He was followed closely over the line by Sunshine Coast local Ben Johnson, who has just returned home from a good season in Europe, with Daniel Newnham from the Gold Coast a very close third.

Apart from a breakaway with only a couple of riders in the very early part of the race it was pretty much a solid showing from the whole group as they worked together to maintain a good average speed to bring the winner home in 2.33.29.

The new Under 19 National Women's Road Cycling Champion, Zoe Southwell from Parramatta Cycling Club in NSW, totally dominated the race almost from the start. She blew apart the two lap 51 kilometre course in 1.31.36 - almost two minutes ahead of second placed Sallyanne Cowman from Brisbane (and also a relative of the famous Sutton cycling clan), with Sarah McLachlan from NSW following closely for third place.

National Championship racing continues tomorrow Saturday 22 September with the Open Men's and Women's and Under 23 Road Races. David McKenzie seems to have recovered fully from his Grafton to Inverell victory last weekend and is widely tipped to hold the form which saw him take out a stage win in the Tour Down Under, into the Championships. The hilly course is rated as one of the toughest in Australia and is ideally suited to the strong climbers with plenty of opportunity for successful breakaways.


Under 15 Men - 20km

1  Tyler McLachlan (Southern Cross)                                  33.11
2  Jackson-Leigh Rathbone (Penrith Panthers)
3  Gerard Murphy (Leongatha)
4  Nathan Moore (Logan City)
5  Christopher Guillan (Southern Cross)
6  James Sherwood (Broncos)
7  Adam Davis (Alice Springs)
8  Todd Dawson (Ipswich Amateur)
9  Luke Cridland (Randwick Botany)
10 Scott Sunderland (Bunbury)

Under 17 Men - 51km

1  Sean Finning (Castlemaine)                                      1.15.12
2  Miles Olman (Rockhampton)
3  Warren Scott (St George)
4  Christopher Pascoe (Dubbo)
5  Adam Tully (Balmoral)
6  Michael Ford (Carnegie-Caulfield)
7  Mark Frendo (Broncos)
8  Cameron Hope (Wagga Wagga)
9  Kieran Love	(Leongatha)
10 Aaron Kowald (Canberra)

Under 19 Men - 98 km

1  Christopher Sutton (St George)                                  2.33.29
2  Benjamin Johnson (Sunshine Coast)
3  Daniel Newnham (Gold Coast Goldstars)
4  Scott Dixon (Dubbo)
5  Gerald Vanspeybroeck (Melville Fremantle)
6  Luke Dale (Eurobodalla)
7  Ryan Sullivan (Northern Districts)
8  Chris Teede (Bunbury)
9  David Kemp (Toowoomba City Amateur Wheelers)
10 Nicholas Sanderson (Ararat & District)

Under 19 Women - 51km

1  Zoe Southwell (Parramatta)                                      1.31.36
2  Sallyanne Cowman (Kangaroo Point)
3  Sarah McLachlan (Southern Cross)
4  Kate Gayner (Kangaroo Point)

Masters Men 30-39 - 100km

1  Ian Walker				
2  Jeff Collier
3  Greg Burns

Masters Women 30-39 - 51km

1  Sandra Bury

Masters Men 40-49 - 75km

1  Agostino Giramondo
2  Michael Buckley
3  Rob Liccariardo

Masters Men 50-59 - 51km

1  Roy Jelley
2  Chas Matters
3  James Thompson