Australian National Club Road Championships
Incorporating The Mooloolaba Masters Week

Mooloolaba, Qld, September 17 - 22, 2001

Click for larger image
Peter Milostic working with
Paul Ebeile
Photo: © Tim Francis

 Results     Photos

Pairs Time Trial - NSW clubs dominate

Day one of the National Club Championships was a Pairs Time Trial. The Sunshine Motorway was closed for 10km from Coolum to the Bli Bli exit in both directions to accomodate the event.

Peter Milostic made his Australian Championships intentions clear as he powered to an Australian Pairs Time Trial Championships win with fellow Penrith Panthers Cycling Club member, Paul Eberle at Mooloolaba on Queensland's Sunshine Coast.

The duo covered the tough and flat, yet wind affected 60 kilometre course in a time of 1.17.30. After a slow start into the gusty south easterly wind on the Sunshine Coast Motorway, the pair made up good time on the return leg and maintained their strong average speed to win by over a minute from second placed Denis Mungoven and Allan Seiper from Canberra in 1.18.39, with Kristjan Snorrason and James Taylor from the Carnegie/Caulfield Club in Victoria only four seconds behind in third place.

The winner's of the Women's Pairs Time Trial Championships were Natalie Bates and Jennifer Mansfield from the Parramatta Cycling Club, who posted a time of 58.54 for the 40 kilometre course. The National Championship events continue on September 19 with the Individual Time Trial for all age groups.

Milostic is expected to increase his overall lead in the National Points Series on the 40 kilometre course which should suit his style of riding. It's also expected that Natalie Bates will continue on her winning streak at the championships in the women's 30 kilometre time trial which will start at 11.10am followed by the men's race at 12.55pm.

The National Championship action continues on Friday with the age group and master's road races at Eudlo and the under 19 men, open men and open women on Saturday starting at 11am from the beachfront area at Mooloolaba.

Photos by Tim Francis/


Women 40 kms

1 Natalie Bates/Jennifer Manefield (Parramatta CC)               58:54:70  
2 Anna Perrin/Liz Young (Hamilton River CC)                      1.12.30 
3 Rosemary Barnes/Laura Jane Meadley (Canberra CC)               1.01.50

Under 17 Junior Women 10km

1 Hannah Banks/Tamara Hammermeister (Broncos CC)                16.03.08
2 Helen Barclay/Jessie McLean (Canberra CC)                      0.09.56
3 Kate Nichols/Irene Potente (St.George CC)                      0.22.02

Under 15 Junior Women 10 kms

1 Hannah Bush/Jessica Tanner (Shepperton CC)                    16.18.50
2 Ebony Manion/Grace Sulzebeuger (West Jarau CC)                 0.37.40
3 Tahlia Clayton/Aimee Howlett (Ararat & District CC)            0.43.00

Men 60km

1 Peter Milostic/Paul Eberle (Penrith Panthers CC)               1.17.31
2 Denis Mungoven/Allan Seiper (Canberra CC)                      0.01.08
3 Kristjan Snorrason/James Taylor (Carnegie Caufield CC)      0.00.04

Under 23 Men 60km

1 Andrew Mason/David Pell (Bendigo and District CC)              1.17.11
2 Troy Glennan/Jonathan Davis (St George CC)                     0.01.39
3 Joshua Van Der Veen/Geordan Murray (Carnegie Caulfield CC)     0.04.02

Under 19 Junior Men 40 kms

1 Bradley Norton/David Tanner (Shepparton CC)                    54:56:70  
2 Scott Dixon/Luke Farr (Dubbo CC)                               0.55.40  
3 Dane Cheers/James Hannam (Norwood CC) 

Under 17 Junior Men 20 kms  

1 Bradley Payne/Ben MockridgeMokeridge (Cats CC)                 4.25.50
2 Zak Dempster/Sean Finning (Castlemayne CC)                     0.40.00
3 Simon Clarke/Michael Ford (Carnegie Caufeild CC)               0.44.30

Under 15 Junior Men 10 km

1 Christopher Guillan/Tyler McLachan (Southern Cross CC)        14.58.06
2 Adam Davis/Matthew Stephens (Alice Springs CC)                 0.00.01
3 Kyle Bateson/Nathan Moore (Logan City CC)                      0.19.90

Mooloolaba Masters Pairs Time Trial

Men 30 - 39

1 Ken French/John Weir                                          27.35.70

Men 40 - 49     
1 Tim Bartlett/Byron Humpries                                   27.12.60
2 Robert Cobcroft/Jack Whip                                      1.16.50
3 Ken Ford/Rob Licciardio                                        0.23.60

Men 50 - 59     
1 Roy Jelly/Chas Matters                                        27.33.30
2 Brian Barr/Greg Woffinden                                      1.04.30

Men 60 - 69 
1 Anthony Bolter/Clive Bongers                                  15.11.40
2 Vince Amos/Roger Willoby                                       1.26.50

Men 70 +  
1 John Borren/Harry Shaw                                        17.01.00