Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

US Cyclo-cross Championships - CN

Providence, RI, USA, December 15-17, 2006

Main Page    Results        Live report    Previous Race  Next Race

Race 7 - December 16: U-23 Men

Anthony returns as national champion

By Steve Medcroft in Providence

Jesse Anthony
Photo ©: Russ & Nancy Wright
(Click for larger image)

Jesse Anthony (Team Clifbar) convincingly re-claimed the national championship jersey he has worn six times previously in Saturday's California Giant Berry Farms USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships U-23 Men's race. 

In a tough, 51-rider field, Anthony, who had won a cyclo-cross national championship jersey every year for six years in a row until Troy Wells took it away from him in 2005, first broke away with former junior national champion Jamey Driscoll (FiordiFrutta). But Driscoll faded from the lead he built with Anthony, leaving the Beverly, Massachusetts native alone for the win.

Driscoll fell back with chasers Morgan Schmitt (Hagens-Berman Cycling) and recently upgraded Elite Junior Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory Team). "I just blew up," a disappointed Driscoll said at the finish line. Unable to match Schmitt and Selander's aggression in the closing laps, Driscoll settled for fourth on the day.

Read the complete live report.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Russ & Nancy Wright/www.wAbbiOrca.com

Images by Ed Collier/www.cyclingpix.net

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net

Images by Tim Brennan/servicecourseimages.smugmug.com

Results - Preliminary

U23 Men

1 Jesse Anthony (Team Clif Bar)                                          46.25
2 Morgan Schmitt (Hagens-Berman LLP Cycling)                              0.24
3 Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory Team)                                      0.26
4 Jamey Driscoll (FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team)                        0.27
5 Chance Noble (California Giant Strawberries/Specialized)                1.00
6 Nicholas Weighall (Alan Factory Cyclocross Team)                        1.20
7 Joey Thompson (Rocky Mtn Chocolate Factory Cycling)                     1.53
8 Charles Marzot (CL Noonan/ Coast to Coast/ KAM)                         1.53
9 Dan Neyens (Hagens-Berman LLP Cycling)                                  1.53
10 Bryan Fawley (Wheels In motion/ giant)                                 2.13
11 Peter Stetina (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                     3.18
12 Tejay Van Garderen (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                3.20
13 Alex Howes (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                        3.23
14 Brady Kappius (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                     4.15
15 Kevin Wolfson (CL Noonan/ Coast to Coast/ KAM)                         4.23
16 Mitchell Peterson (Devo)                                               4.40
17 Mitch Comardo (Bike Barn)                                              4.55
18 Brian Hayes (RGM WATCHES - RICHARD SACHS - REX CHIU)                   5.04
19 Dylan O'sullivan (Team Bicycle Alley)                                  5.11
20 Luke Brechwald (Sonic U23)                                             5.12
21 John Stevens (Barbasol)                                                5.34
22 David Fleischhauer (Sonic U23)                                         5.49
23 Stephen De Lisle (FORT Factory Team)                                   5.57
24 Bill Cowan (KHSnm.com Junior Cycling Team)                             6.03
25 Sean Noonan (Team 14/Pedro's)                                          6.13
26 Duncan Mcgovern (Whitman College)                                      6.22
27 Kyle Hammaker (Trek VW/JBL)                                            6.30
28 Jesse Dekrey (FORT LEWIS COLLEGE)                                      6.45
29 Kip Spaude (nova/IScorp)                                               7.02
30 Taylor Lane (NMBRA)                                                    7.04
31 Luca Lenzi (Vision Quest)                                              7.24
32 Patrick Goguen (NCC/Bikereg.com)                                       7.44
33 Scott Dolmat-Connell (UVM Cycling)                                     8.36
34 Colt Mcelwaine (NERD Cycling)                                          9.30
35 Chris Worden (Watchung Wheelmen/Highgear Cyclery)                          
36 Kirk Turner (Unattached)                                                   
37 Arthur Candee Nelsen                                                       
38 Andrew Logiudice (Skylands Cycling)                                        
One lap down
39 Miles Smith (C3/ADG/joe's bike shop)                                       
40 Dominic Nudy (Beans)                                                       
41 Timothy Halliday (IronHorse New England)                                   
42 Erik Mitchell (Quaker City Wheelmen)                                       
43 Morgan Whiterabbit (Catgegory 6 Racing Squad)                              

Back to top