Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Georgia State Cyclocross Championships

Marietta, GA, November 21, 2004

Rain, mud, and bicycles can mean only one thing, Cyclocross time. Sunday's Georgia State Cyclocross Championships were held at Jim R. Miller Park in Marietta, Georgia. The course included a couple of good dismount sections and more mud that you can shake a stick at. The lap started fast on the paved section of the course before veering left onto the grass. In the middle of the grass section was a chicane that felt a little like driving in Atlanta, turn every way possible and somehow you come out facing the same direction you started. The chicane was quickly followed by a fast fire road section, an uphill, a soft and fast downhill, and the Mount Marietta Run Up. In pre-race test rides the run up was enough to get the blood flowing and the heart racing but add a lot of rain and mud and it felt like trying to run up the down escalator as the racers feet kept sliding backward. Once over the run up the racers had to contend with a fast, muddy and slick as snot downhill only to find that the downhill lead to an open field of more mud and grass before finally getting some relief on the start finish road.

The morning kicked off with the Master's races and Tony Scott nipping Emile Abraham at the line to win the 30+ race with Dub Smith, NARC/ Free-Flite, rounding out the top three (second Georgian). The 40+ race was won by Jon Atkins. It is rumored that Jon was setting some of the fastest times all day on the slick, wooded downhill section. Local cycling legend, Greg Turner, chased all the way to the line to finish second ahead of David Witherow who had a great ride to finish 3rd. The next race up was the Men's C, Women's B, and junior's races. The Men's C race was won by young Christian Parrett who is demonstrating that he will be a force in Cyclocross in the future. Alan Drosky and David Smith fought out second place with Alan having the better day for second place. The Women's B race was won by Kari Lindner. In a post race interview she said, “I just wanted to hurry up and get finished to find dry, warm clothes and some furry slippers.” Or was that what I was thinking while I was racing? Cross series newcomer Lisa Safstrom finished second and Nancy Jones rounded out the top three.

The junior's 15-18 saw its largest field of the year with eight racers fighting it out for the State title. Series newcomer Michael Cumming bested Thomas Brown and Chris Hong for the win. The 14 and under race saw Kyle Cochran, NARC/Free-Flite, take the series title ahead of NARC teammate Quint Smith, with Everett and Jansen Lindner pushing the two NARC/ Free-Flite boys while battling it out for family bragging rights.

In the Men's B race it was a two man battle between series leader Nate Zukes and rising star David Howe. David Howe completed his climb through the Men's B race last weekend with his breakthough victory and put the exclamation point on it in Marietta with a hard fought win over Nate Zukes. The Men's B series is turning out to be very interesting with just a few points separating the leaders with two races to go. The Women's A race saw a great field make Georgia proud as they splashed through the puddles and plowed through the mud in pursuit of championship glory. All of this with a bright smiles showing from beneath their mud covered faces. Defending champ Lisa Randall pulled out the victory as she finally slipped free of the chasing Kim Sawyer. Kari Bradley had a great race to finish 3rd and Trish Albert proved that mud is her strong suit as she rode a great race to finish fourth.

The Men's A race also saw one of its best fields this year but the result stayed the same. Tim Barrett of NARC/Free Flite was free to fly around the course today and rode to an impressive victory to claim the state title. (Tim has won every race in the 2004 Series). John Kavan of Florida finished second and Wesley Garland finished 3rd, the second Georgian. The race also saw Andy Johnson return to cross to finish fourth, No, Wait, that's Jamie Pair with his number 9 pinned on upside down. Jamie Pair rode an impressive race to hold off Shey Linder at the line and claim fourth place, 3rd in the State Championship race.


Men's A  
1 Tim Barrett (NARC/Free Flite)
2 John Kavan (JC)
3 Wesley Garland (Nalley Lexus)
4 Jamie Pair (Independent Fabrication)
5 Shey Lindner (The Bike Shop)
6 Jeff Poe (The Bike Shop)
7 Jamie Hyatt (The Bike Shop)
8 John Robertson (NARC/Free Flite)
Men's B  
1 David Howe (L5 Flyers)
2 Nate Zukas (Cita-Vita South)
3 John Ericson (Brazen Dropouts)
4 Everette Herring (GC Cycling)
5 David Farabaugh (Team Cycleworks)
6 Eric Davis (BVC)
7 Greg Christian (Velo Brew)
8 JT Stukes (Georgia Tech)
9 Ross Douglass (Alan Factory)
10 Jonathan Trapp (NARC/Free Flite)
11 Robert DeRose (Thomson)
12 Carl Weber 
13 Jim Lee 
14 Andrew Guthrie 
15 Jay Halgat (Biketown USA)
16 Chance Regina (Cycleworks)
17 Josh Tanner 
18 Adam Jones (GA Velo/Hub Bikes)
Men's C  
1 Christian Parrett (Thomson)
2 Alan Drosky 
3 David Smith 
4 Bob Bourne (L5 Flyers)
5 Wendell Riley 
6 Robert Woldring 
7 Richard Roberts (Georgia Tech)
8 Pat Collerton (NARC/Free Flite)
9 Donald Bill (Central Georgia Cyclist)
10 Scott Cochran (NARC/Free Flite)
11 Frank Kennedy (GTC)
12 Jimmy Birdsong 
13 Chris Rowls (L5 Flyers)
14 Brad Pearson (Bicycle Outfitters)
15 Paul Firnschild 
Womens A  
1 Lisa Randall (Alan Factory)
2 Kim Sawyer (Travel Girl)
3 Kari Bradley (Travel Girl)
4 Trish Albert (Boneshakers)
5 Kathleen Tokuda (Velo Bella)
6 Holly Longley (NARC/Free Flite)
7 Lisa Samuelson (Alan Factory)
Womens B  
1 Kari Lindner (The Bike Shop)
2 Lisa Safstrom (L5 Flyers)
3 Nancy Jones (GA Velo/Hub Bikes)
Masters 30+  
1 Tony Scott (Fulton Flyers)
2 Emile Abraham (Team Money)
3 Dub Smith (NARC/Free Flite)
4 John Robertson (NARC/Free Flite)
5 Brady Rogers (GA Velo/Cherokee Bikes)
6 Bob Kuhn (GTC)
7 Perry Thomas (Carteca Bike)
8 Shey Lindner (The Bike Shop)
9 Glen Bradley (Velo Voodoo)
10 Travis Neumuller (NARC/Free Flite)
11 Travis Hicks (L5 Flyers)
12 Paul Firnschild 
Masters 40+  
1 Jonathon Atkins (FFCC)
2 Greg Turner (Velo Voodoo)
3 David Witherow (Velo Voodoo)
4 Brad Harper (Cycleworks)
5 Dan Coy (GTC)
6 Michael Jennings (Forum Cycling)
7 Lamar Mauney (Fulton Flyers/Hot Tubes)
8 Gerard Remery (GTC)
9 Wojtek Wysocki (GTC)
10 Randy Nelson (GA Velo/Cherokee Bikes)
11 Jay Halgat (Biketown USA)
12 Jim Behning 
13 Stephen Foley (Fulton Flyers)
14 Michael McGee (L5 Flyers)
Jr. 15-18 
1 Michael Cumming (Biketown USA)
2 Thomas Brown (Fulton Flyers)
3 Chris Hong 
4 Justin Murray (Fulton Flyers/Hot Tubes)
5 Mathew Ryerson (The Bike Shop)
6 Oscar Clark (Fulton Flyers/Hot Tubes)
7 Nick Oleary (The Bike Shop)
8 Zach Heaton (The Bike Shop)
Jrs 14-  
1 Kyle Cochran (NARC/Free Flite)
2 Quint Smith (NARC/Free Flite)
3 Everett Lindner (The Bike Shop)
4 Jansen Lindner (The Bike Shop)

Local results 2004