Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Airborne Cup Cyclocross Race

John Bryan State Park, Yellow Springs, Ohio, October 26, 2003

Airborne at Airborne

By Team Airborne.net

The start
Photo ©: Team Airborne.net

Team Airborne, Airborne Cycles, John Bryan State Park, and ProCyclocross.com teamed up this weekend to sponsor the first ever Airborne Cup Cyclocross Race. The conditions could not have more perfect, with plenty of rain, mud and barriers to test the riders lap after grueling lap.

The course was held mostly on the open park turf, with 10 barriers accounting for four agonizing dismount sections including the dreaded 180-degree quad. Despite the perfect cross conditions, the fair weather riders stayed home and only a die-hard core of riders assembled to contest the day.

The C race was small but animated, and saw Fred Schauer win at his first attempt to convert from a hockey player to a full on bike racer While Fred soloed away, he left the fight for the rest of the podium for two teammates from the Savage Hill team, Larry Pesyna and Jon Schaer.

Lindsey Lightizer braved the conditions to win the women's race, while Jarrett Frauhiger crossed the line as the victorious junior!

“Stop, it HURTS!”
Photo ©: Team Airborne.net

The B race was fast from the gun, and marked by numerous crashes in the first lap, including a spectacular washout by Team Airborne's own Scott Spees. Scott battled back to take the last podium spot behind Joe Bellante of Bio Wheels (2nd), and Dayton local Matt Botting (1st) of Team Dayton Cycles. Team Airborne had another strong showing in Rick Toler (5th) behind Kirk Buddendeck from Biker Bob. The ever-consistent Harry Wicks finished ahead of the rest of the hometown crew of Gary Blair and Doug Hamilton.

After the course had been sufficiently broken in by the previous two races, the A race was let loose. The start was fast and the group stayed together the entire first lap Mitch Graham sucked in a flag marking the course at the end of the first lap and had to dismount and do a little on the side wrenching in order to get the gears functioning again.

The lead in the A race
Photo ©: Team Airborne.net

Russ Folger fell off the front group after an untimely flat in the second lap, leaving a group of five to contest the rest of the race. Graham (Bio Wheels) pushed the pace and gained a small advantage for the next few laps, and forced Ezra Taylor (Mid State Velo), Tj Turner (Team Airborne.net), and Al Senft (Nuvo/Bap) to chase At one point the group came back together, but a tactical attack by Graham saw him gain another 10 seconds and hold on for the win. Taylor (turning a single speed no less), opened up a gap on Turner and Senft, almost catching Graham by the finish. T.J. Turner gained just enough room over Al Senft in the last lap, and the top four were decided. Behind the lead group, John Sulentic (River Front Cycling Club) held off all other chasers to take the last money spot. Shelia Senft (Team Airborne.net) bravely finished out the day for the win in the women's A race.


Images by Team Airborne.net


Mens C  
1 Fred Schauer 
2 Larry Pesyna (Savage Hill)
3 Jon Schaer (Savage Hill)
4 Wade Smith 
5 John Hoke 
6 Bob Scott 
Junior C  
1 Jarrett Frauhiger 
Women C  
1 Lindsey Lightizer 
Men B  
1 Matt Botting (Team Dayton)
2 Joe Bellante (Bio Wheels)
3 Scott Spees (Team Airborne.net)
4 Kurt Buddendeck (Biker Bob)
5 Rick Toler (Team Airborne.net)
6 Harry Wicks (Bio Wheels)
7 Ryan Lindsay (Revolution)
8 Gary Blair 
9 Doug Hamilton 
10 Butch Ramsey (Big Time)
11 Mike Otting (QCW)
12 Casey Leonard (Big Time)
13 Dave Missen (QCW)
DNF Scott Stanford 
Women A  
1 Shiela Senft (Team Airborne.net)
Men A  
1 Mitch Graham (Bio Wheels)
2 Ezra Taylor (Mid State Velo)
3 Tj Turner (Team Airborne.net)
4 Al Senft (Nuvo/Bap)
5 Jon Sulentic (River Front Cycling Club)
6 Bill Crank (Shellers Cycling)
7 Mike Kalan (Team Airborne.net)
8 Matt Bell (Bio Wheels)
9 Rush Folger (Tir Tech)
10 Charlie Miller (Bio Wheels)
11 John Riedel (IF)
12 Roger Wilson (DNF)
13 Ryan Gamm (DNF)

Previous results from the USA