Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Six Days of Moscow - 6D

Russia, March 4-9, 2003

Main Page     Results     Previous Day    Next Day

Day 3 - March 6

Slippens/Stam take a lap

Dutch duo Robert Slippens/Danny Stam have hit the front in the Six Days of Moscow after the third night of racing. The pair managed to take a lap out of the field during the final madison, and will keep this going into tomorrow night, as well as their 112 points. In second place at 1 lap down are the promising young Belgians Iljo Keisse/Dmitri De Fauw, who are on 113 points, while Swiss Franco Marvulli/Alexander Aeschbach are in third on 105 points. Two laps down are Andrei Minashkin//Jean-Pierre Van Zyl, who are the biggest points scorers so far on 143 points. However, they need to take back two 333 metre laps if they are to regain the lead.

The 1 km time trial was won by Marvulli/Aeschbach, who clocked 1.00.171 for three laps of the velodrome. Also, the motor paced events were finally able to get under way, with scooters being used instead of the big motorbikes. Germans Gerd Dörich/Mario Vonhof won the 20 minute race ahead of Slippens/Stam.

Courtesy of the Union International des Velodromes


Standings after night 3
1 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)                  112 pts

1 lap behind

2 Iljo Keisse/Dmitri De Fauw (Bel)                  113
3 Franco Marvulli/Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)         105

2 laps behind

4 Andrei Minashkin (Rus)/Jean-Pierre Van Zyl (RSA)  143
5 Jérôme Neuville/Franck Perque (Fra)                99
6 Jimmy Hansen/Morten Christiansen (Den)             84
7 Sergei Koudentsov/Sergei Osipov (Rus)              78
8 Marco Villa (Ita)/Alexei Chmidt (Rus)              78
9 Gerd Dörich/Mario Vonhof (Ger)                     25

3 laps behind

10 Jozef Zabka/Martin Liska (Svk)                    53
11 Vladimir Rybin/Vasily Yakovlev (Ukr)              17

4 laps behind

12 Lars Teutenberg (Ger)/Peter Jörg (Swi)            12
13 Dennis Rasmussen (Den)/Jukka Heinikainen (Fin)     9

5 laps behind

14 Francis De Jager (Ned)/Konstantin Ponamarov (Rus) 13

6 laps behind

15 Sergei Kulakov/Sergei Sevastianov (Rus)           24
16 Lars Thomsen/Michael Smith Larsen (Den)            4

1 km Time trial

1 Franco Marvulli/Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)         1.00.171
2 Andrei Minashkin (Rus)/Jean-Pierre Van Zyl (RSA)  1.00.628
3 Sergei Kulakov/Sergei Sevastianov (Rus)           1.01.835
4 Sergei Koudentsov/Sergei Osipov (Rus)             1.01.957
5 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)                  1.02.513
6 Iljo Keisse/Dmitri De Fauw (Bel)                  1.02.601
7 Jozef Zabka/Martin Liska (Svk)                    1.02.779
8 Francis De Jager (Ned)/Konstantin Ponamarov (Rus) 1.02.847
9 Marco Villa (Ita)/Alexei Chmidt (Rus)             1.02.899
10 Gerd Dörich/Mario Vonhof (Ger)                   1.03.917
11 Jimmy Hansen/Morten Christiansen (Den)           1.04.138
12 Vladimir Rybin/Vasily Yakovlev (Ukr)             1.04.753
13 Lars Teutenberg (Ger)/Peter Jörg (Swi)           1.04.755
14 Dennis Rasmussen (Den)/Jukka Heinikainen (Fin)   1.04.814
15 Lars Thomsen/Michael Smith Larsen (Den)          1.05.171
16 Jérôme Neuville/Franck Perque (Fra)              1.06.308

Courtesy of the Union International des Velodromes