Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Six Days of Moscow - 6D

Russia, March 4-9, 2003

Main Page     Results     Next Day

Day 1 - March 4

Marvulli and Aeschbach on top after night 1

The Swiss team of Franco Marvulli/Alexander Aeschbach has finished on top of the points standings after night one of the Six Days of Moscow, held in Krylatskoj velodrome. with 42 points, the Swiss are narrowly in front of Dutchmen Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (41 pts) and Italian/Russian combo Marco Villa/Alexei Chmidt (40 pts). French pair JÚr˘me Neuville/Franck Perque are also on the same lap as these three teams, albeit with less points.

The crowd wasn't particularly big on night one, and the organisers had a few problems getting the motorbikes for the derny races. However the rest of the racing was of good quality, with Andrei Minashkin/Jean-Pierre Van Zyl winning the flying 1 km time trial (3 laps of the velodrome), and Van Zyl also winning the keirin and sprint series. The madison was taken by Slippens/Stam, while Villa/Chmidt won the team elimination race.


Standings after night 1
1 Franco Marvulli/Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)           42 pts
2 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)                    41
3 Marco Villa (Ita)/Alexei Chmidt (Rus)               40
4 JÚr˘me Neuville/Franck Perque (Fra)                 17

1 lap behind

5 Andrei Minashkin (Rus)/Jean-Pierre Van Zyl (RSA)    59
6 Iljo Keisse/Dmitri De Fauw (Bel)                    34
7 Sergei Koudentsov/Sergei Osipov (Rus)               19
8 Jimmy Hansen/Morten Christiansen (Den)              17
9 Jozef Zabka/Martin Liska (Svk)                      13
10 Sergei Kulakov/Sergei Sevastianov (Rus)            11
11 Vladimir Rybin/Vasily Yakovlev (Ukr)               9
12 Gerd D÷rich/Mario Vonhof (Ger)                     3
13 Francis De Jager (Ned)/Konstantin Ponamarov (Rus)  2
14 Dennis Rasmussen (Den)/Jukka Heinikainen (Fin)     1
15 Lars Teutenberg (Ger)/Peter J÷rg (Swi)             0

2 Laps behind

16 Lars Thomsen/Michael Smith Larsen (Den)            0

1 km time trial

1 Andrei Minashkin (Rus)/Jean-Pierre Van Zyl (RSA)     59.937 
2 Franco Marvulli/Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)          1.00.010
3 Sergei Kulakov/Sergei Sevastianov (Rus)            1.01.330
4 Iljo Keisse/Dmitri De Fauw (Bel)                   1.01.517
5 Sergei Koudentsov/Sergei Osipov (Rus)              1.01.673
6 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)                   1.02.613
7 Vladimir Rybin/Vasily Yakovlev (Ukr)               1.02.901
8 Gerd D÷rich/Mario Vonhof (Ger)                     1.02.922
9 Marco Villa (Ita)/Alexei Chmidt (Rus)              1.02.928
10 Francis De Jager (Ned)/Konstantin Ponamarov (Rus) 1.03.107
11 Jozef Zabka/Martin Liska (Svk)                    1.03.313
12 Franco Marvulli/Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)         1.03.815
13 Dennis Rasmussen (Den)/Jukka Heinikainen (Fin)    1.04.076
14 Jimmy Hansen/Morten Christiansen (Den)            1.04.190
15 Lars Thomsen/Michael Smith Larsen (Den)           1.05.089
16 Lars Teutenberg (Ger)/Peter J÷rg (Swi)            1.06.066

Courtesy of the Union International des Velodromes