Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for June 1-7, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Colorado Velodrome Association

Colorado Springs, Colorado, May 31, 2002

Tour de France comes to Colorado

A heat wave rolled into Colorado Springs to kick off the CVA Regular Season Racing. With riders eager to start picking up the Chipotle Burritos as well as the new lucrative cash prizes, the racing was fast and furious!

In the Pro 1-2 field, the stars were everywhere! From the CVA Rider of the Year, Chesen Frey, LC2 World Champion and World Record Holder Dory Selinger, seventeen time National Champion Mike Creed to former Tour de France stage winner Jeff Pierce.

The racing started off with a 15 lap scratch race. Early attacks failed to gain much ground on the star filled field. In the middle of this the first Chipotle Prime of the season was given out! CVA Vice President Kevin Knapp heard the word burrito and sprinted like he never has before! Kevin will enjoy his dinner! In the end, it was Mike "Look out for my big gear" Creed (Prime Alliance) making a run for line winning the first event of the CVA Friday Night Season.

In the 10 lap point-a-lap, Rocco Mazzie (Hammer Racing) jumped from the gun and took off on a mission to win. Holding the field off for 7 laps, it looked like he might just pull it off. That's when the Prime Alliance rider, Mike Creed once again took matters into his own hands! Off he went taking the next 3 laps and earning the 5 points for the last lap.

The points race was a crazy affair. Nobody wanted to work with other teams and the field was splintered by Marcus Black of Cody Racing and once again, Mike Creed. Mike had some early race issues and had gone down a lap. He fought back like a warrior but in the end, it was Marcus Black narrowly edging him out on points.

In the Category 3-4 men's racing, the field was tightly matched and extremely fast. In the 10 lap Scratch race, nobody could get away. The only Junior in the race, riding for Cody Racing, Carl Boucher took a mid race sprint to win himself a Chipotle Burrito! The kid is eager to get downtown! At the end, the young sprinter was edged out by Pro Peleton Velo's Kirk Robinson. Carl managed a good second!

After watching Rocco suffer through the points race, Vitamin Cottage Racer Jeff Paul took to the track with the same thing in mind. He went from the gun and held off a hard charging field! Eastside Wheelmen's Todd Moyer worked hard to bridge the gap, but just couldn't make it. Carl Boucher won the field sprint and took second once again!

With the "Big Prize" the field decided to go for the 5 mile track record. They worked like a well oiled machine for 24 fast laps. In the end, Kirk Robinson and Carl Boucher went at it again, Jeff Paul in tow! As the hit the line, setting the Cat 3-4 track record (10:08) for 5 miles, Kirk Robinson won the Chiptole Rider of the Night Award! Kirk took home a Chipotle Burrito, Hat and Shirt!


Pro 1-2 10 Lap
1 Mike Creed
2 Rocco Mazzei
3 Che Frey
4 Dan Schmatz
5 Mark Guerin
Pro 1-2 15 Lap
1 Mike Creed
2 Marcus Black
3 Mark Guerin
4 Che Frey
5 Dave McIntosh
Pro 1-2 Points
1 Marcus Black
2 Mike Creed
3 Che Frey
4 Dave McIntosh
5 Dan Schmatz
Cat 3-4 10 Lap
1 Kirk Robinson
2 Carl Boucher
3 Jim Murdock
4 Mike Aggson
5 Carter Allgood
Cat 3-4 12 Lap
1 Jeff Paul
2 Carl Boucher
3 Michael Sandler
4 Thomas Miller
5 Mike Aggson
Cat 3-4 5 Mile 
1 Kirk Robinson (10:08 - New Track Record)
2 Carl Boucher
3 Jeff Paul
4 Bruce Hitchcock
5 John Marshall

Previous USA Results