Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

The Sid Patterson Grand Prix

Melbourne, Australia, April 6, 2002

Sid Patterson GP    Champion of Champions    Aces Scratch Race

He says he's not fit, but Aitken wins scratch and keirin


By Karen Forman

Brett Aitken had said he wasn't in good form, having only been on the bike "three times in three weeks" but he sure didn't appear to be too unfit when he won both the CFAC Aces Keirin AND the Toll Logistics Aces scratch race during the Sid Patterson Wheel Race program at Melbourne's Vodafone Arena on Saturday night.

Aitken, who shocked everyone when he announced earlier in the night that he intended to take a year out of top level competition to nurture his fledgling personal training business, first showed his fighting quality when he flew around the outside from third wheel to pip Mark Renshaw - who had led out - on the post in the keirin.

Renshaw had drawn position six, but jumped onto the back of the derny first, with Niblett second wheel. When the derny pulled up, Renshaw upped the pace and Niblett hung on for dear life.

At the bell it was still Renshaw and Niblett, but Aitken was there, too, and with half a lap to go he attacked, flew around the outside and sprinted magnificently to the line, never in doubt for the win. Sean Finning and Niblett dropped back in the fury, unable to hang onto the flying Aitken.

Somehow, Aitken still had the energy to go even one better and win the 25 lap scratch race as well.

He was leading the field of 21 with 15 laps to go, with Darren Young second wheel, with Noble Park rider Leigh De Luca third and Japanese visitor Kouji Yoshii fourth.

The pace continued to heat up as the race progressed. With four to go, Yoshii and Bendigo rider Tim Decker attacked. Sean Finning joined them and for a brief few moments, the three raced clear.

The bunch chased. Renshaw nearly fell in all the excitement. Young was digging in - he wanted a win. But when Aitken decided to go at the bell, there was no looking back. He won in the final sprint to the line.

Yes, and he's still intent on taking that year off. Heck of a way to go out for a while . . .


Under 15 Women

Toll Logistics Aces Scratch Race
25 laps
1. Brett Aitken (SA) 7.35.59
2. Darren Young  (Tas) 
3. Joel Leonard (Footscray)

CFAC Aces Keirin Final
6 laps
1.  Brett Aitken (SA) 11.37
2. Mark Renshaw (NSW)
3. Todd Wilksch (Bendigo)
4. Jason Niblett (Horsham)

Malvern Star Invitational M17 Motor Paces
12 laps
1. Michael Ford (Carnegie) 4.13.304
2. Shane Perkins (Carnegie)
3. Patrick Shaw (Bendigo)
4. Ben Rix (Bendigo)

Bill Clifton Carpet Service Women's Sprint Match
Kristine Bayley beat Tiffany Godfrey 13.01

John Beasley Cycles Elimination
1.  Jonny Clarke (Carnegie) 6.26.420
2. Brad Edmunds (Echuca-Moama)
3. Mark Hudgel 
4. Hayden Mead 

CFAC Aces Keirin Heats
6 laps
First 2 to final
Heat One
1. Brett Aitken (SA) 11.59
2. Todd Wilksch (Bendigo)

Heat 2
1. Joel Leonard (Footscray) 12.430
2. Sean Finning (CSL)
3. Kouji Yoshii (Japan)

Heat 3
1. Jason Niblett (Horsham) 11.719
2. Mark Renshaw (NSW)
3. Simon Barnett (Horsham)

Fitzroy Cycles Elimination
1. Doug Garley (Carnegie)
2. Darren Cathie (Carnegie)
3. Russell Poole (BBN)
4. Aaron Moody (Carnegie)

Bill Clifton Carpet Service Women's Sprint Match
Kristine Bayley beat Tiffany Godfrey

Uni Bicycles Invitational Sprint Match
Shane Perkins beat Andrew Rix 12.169