Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

US National Track Championships - CN

Frisco Superdome, TX September 7-11, 2004

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 4 - September 10: Men Madison, Women Keirin, Women 5-Mile, Men Sprint

Blatchford breaks through

By Keri Fagan, USA Cycling

Perhaps the biggest excitement of the weekend came in Friday's evening racing as 18-year-old Michael Blatchford (Cypress, Calif.), made a name for himself as the newest super sprinter.

Blatchford put his stamp on the track cycling scene on Friday, taking the elite crown in the sprint at only 18 years old. He began his season by setting records in the 200m qualifying rounds at the Pan Am Championships and then went on to become the Junior National match sprint Champion and win silver in the sprint at the Junior World Championships. Now, he has an elite-level national crown under his belt.

The young rider qualified in first for the sprint in Thursday's 200m time trial in 10.719, followed by 2004 Olympian Giddeon Massie (Lansdale, Pa.) in second. The finals witnessed a repeat of the qualifier, as Blatchford was on fire, leaving Massie behind in two of the sprints. Massie claimed the silver medal, while fellow Olympian Christian Stahl (Bethany, Conn.) took the bronze as well as the U23 sprint title.

In Friday's Madison, it was Matt Stephens and Charles Huff of the Mercury Cycling Team to ride away with the win. Jonas Carney and Colby Pearce won the silver, and Bobby Lea and James Carney secured the bronze.

The scratch race saw Becky Quinn (Carlsbad, Calif.), who was fourth at the World Championships earlier this year, claim top honors at the Superdrome, taking the win over Nancy Lux (Clyde, N.C.) and bronze medal winner Kelly Benjamin (Overland Park, Kan.). In the women's keirin, Suzie Goodwin (Plano, Texas) raced on home turf to earn the stars and stripes jersey ahead of Miranda Moon (Beaverton, Ore.) and Jamie Pettianato (Emmaus, Pa.)


Women's Keirin
1 Suzanne Goodwin (Frisco Cycling Club)
2 Miranda Moon (Team Rubicon/United)
3 Jamie Pettinato (Radical Media - CRCA)
4 Kelly Benjamin (ABD Cycling Team)
5 Tela Crane (Rad Racing NW)
6 Norrene Godfrey (Team Rubicon/United)
Senior men sprint
1 Michael Blatchford
2 Giddeon Massie
3 Christian Stahl
4 Kevin Belz
5 Mark Garrett
6 Aaron Kacala
7 Ryan Nelman
9 Andrew Lakatosh
10 Nicholas (Nick) Chenowth
U23 Men Sprint
1 Christian Stahl
2 Andrew Lakatosh
3 Kevin Belz
4 Dominic VanNielen
Women 10km scratch
1 Rebecca Quinn (Gotham Cyclists)
2 Nancy Lux (Asheville Women's Cy)
3 Kelly Benjamin (ABD Cycling Team)
4 Ashley Kimmet (Colavita-Bolla)
5 Annette Hanson (Team Rubicon/United)
6 Anna Webb (Red 5 Adventures)
7 Larssyn Staley (Hot Tubes Developmen)
8 Natalie Klemko (ABD Cycling Team)
9 Jenn Wangerin (Team Kenda Tire)
10 Norrene Godfrey (Team Rubicon/United)
11 Suzanne Goodwin (Frisco Cycling Club)
12 Miranda Moon (Team Rubicon/United)
Men's Madison
1 Matt Stephens/Charles Huff (Mercury Cycling Team)
2 Jonas Carney/Colby Pearce
3 Bobby Lea/James Carney