Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



NAS-TRACK Madison Racing League

Rochester Hills, Michigan, August 29, 2003

Koesel, Sink Win NAS-TRACK Championship Title

Ronnie Sink and Dave Koesel were determined to win and they did -- earning the title of NAS-TRACK Madison Racing League 2003 Champions, the best bike racers on the boards at the Veldrome at Bloomer Park in Rochester Hills, Michigan. The League Championships brought eight teams to the line and a heated competition that began with the sound of the first bell and continued to the final sprint of the bike race.

Koesel and Sink, teamed together for the first time in NAS-TRACK's two year history, walloped the competition not only with a solid points lead but with an unbeatable performance of speed, intensity and technical expertise. Throughout the 80 minute program, they never let up with Koesel initiating the breaks and Sink extending them with bursts of speed typical of his great sprinting. They did, however, have some challenges, the strongest coming from the second place team of Tony Bruley and Andre Champoux who finished only eight points behind.

Both Bruley and Champoux are strong long distance racers and had the ability to keep the pressure on, which they did by consistently chasing down the leaders or making dramatic -- though unsuccessful -- attempts to get away. In a breathtaking move, they became sprinters for the last chance at points, as Bruley motored over a crowd of racers to win the double points contest. That first place at the finish put them in second overall. Koesel's third place at the line was all that team needed to hang onto the title.

Third in the championships went to the team of Rob Akers and Terry Palmer. Fourth was Steve Mlujeak and Jon Hughes.

The racers will compete one more time at 7 p.m., Friday, Sept. 5th in the SouperBowl, which will be the final chance for racers to get points for an overall season victory. Koesel's Championships win puts him ahead overall with Hughes in second and Champoux in third.

Racing happens at the 1/8th of a mile, 44 degree banked Velodrome at Bloomer Park in Rochester Hills, Michigan. For more information please call Dale Hughes, NAS-TRACK Chairman at 248-961-3705 or visit www.NAS-TRACK.com.


1 Dave Koesel (Livonia) & Ronnie Sink (Rochester)               68
2 Andre Champoux (Ypsilanti) & Tony Bruley (Rochester Hills)    60
3 Rob Akers (Garden City) & Terry Palmer (Macomb Twp.)          47
4 Steve Mlujeak (Rochester Hills) & Jon Hughes (Roch. Hills)    39
5 Ray Dybowksi (Waterford) & Rob Good (Toronto Canada)          29
6 Pio Apostoli (Toledo) Ohio & Dave Teal (Toledo Ohio)          28
7 Cullen Watkins (Royal Oak) & Nick Laughton (Roch. Hills)      15
DNF Hans Peterson (Northville) & Christopher Hughes (Roch Hills)  
Overall Standings
1 Dave Koesel (Livonia)               297 (65+45+62+57+68)
2 Jon Hughes (Rochester Hills)        283 (34+55+43+55+57+39)
3 Andre Champoux (Ypsilanti)          281 (45+43+43+55+35+60)
4 Rob Good (Toronto)                  245 (32+39+62+46+37+29)
5 Rippin Ronnie Sink (Rochester)      228 (46+55+46+13+68)
6 Mark. St. John (St. Clair Shores)   222 (65+39+42+43+23)
7 Ray Dybowski (Waterford)            217 (16+46+23+46+47+29)
8 Pio Apostoli (Toledo)               184 (32+45+50+29+28)
9 Rob Akers (Garden City)             182 (45+34+56+47)
10 Terry Palmer (Shelby Twp.)         146 (43+56+47)
11 Steve Mlujeak (Rochester Hills)    136 (50+47+39) 
12 Randy Aardema (Detroit)            139 (17+46+39+37)
13 Ron St. John (Hawaii)              118 (42+53+23)
14 Mark Freed (Mt. Pleasant)           70 (23+29+18) 
15 Cullen Watkins (Royal Oak)          67 (39+13+15)
16 Wayne Cook (Mt. Clemens)            21
17 Dave Boynton (Royal Oak)            21
18 Paul Jaqua (Savannah GA)            17

Previous results from the USA