Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for March 30-31, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Ontario Criterium
Princeton University Mercury Cycling Classic
Columbia University Grant's Tomb Criterium
Lincoln Plating Spring Classics - Criterium #1
Spring Fling Criterium
Racing on the River Time Trial

Lincoln Plating Spring Classics - Criterium #1

Mahoney Park, Lincoln, March 30, 2002

Brasch Takes Spring Classics Opener

by John Jr Lefler

On a colder than expected day, Jordan Brasch of NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos took out the sprint on the final lap to win the first criterium in this years Lincoln Plating Spring Classics series. Teammate Joe McWilliams raced to a second place finish, followed by CCB/Volkswagen rider, Jay Thomas. Showing plenty of determination, Thomas fought back from an early race spill that left his right knee bloodied. For the most part, the 60 minute event was quite subdued with only a few minor attacks.

"There was a lot of traffic and I did not want to get caught up in it," explained Brasch. "I was either going to get to the front before the end or forget about it. I wanted to try and catch everybody by surprise."

In addition to the first place finish, Brasch claimed a prime, which puts him atop the points standings with 114. However, next weeks race will not see the NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos rider lining up.

"I won't be there, but at least I took the points away from other teams," Brasch commented.

The Lincoln Plating Spring Classics Criterium Series continues next Sunday, April 7 at Mahoney Park in Lincoln.


Cat 1/2
1 Jordan Brasch (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
3 Jay Thomas (CCB/Volkswagen)
4 Chris Spence (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
5 Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
6 Kent McNeill (RCRC)
Cat 3
1 Kevin Wilkins (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Cody McCullough (Independent Fabrication)
3 Darin Schlake (SNORT)
4 Mark Merritt
5 John Rokke (SNORT)
6 Steven Jarrett (OBCR)
7 Matt Landen (RCRC)
8 Scott Stevens (Runza Racing)
9 Ian Robertson (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
10 Michael Koons
11 Mark Brackenbury (AJC)
Cat 4
1 Matthew Sherman (UNL Cycling)
2 Greg Shimonek (BBC)
3 Chris French (BBC)
4 Buck Wood
5 Dave Soflin
6 Mike Resetar (BBC)
7 Micah Newell
8 Dave Jablonski (Husker Road)
9 Matt Tillinghast (LBC)
10 Gregg Wollenhaupt (Husker Road)
11 Robert Gregg (AJC)
12 Jim Adams (Lincoln Velo)
Cat 5
1 Christoph Rothmund (TSG - Wilhelmsdorf)
2 Jeremiah Grell
3 Steve Leuty
4 Aaron Pool (BBC)
5 Bob Wieck (AJC)
6 Scott Marble (BBC)
7 Andrew Hammond
8 Dan Hansen
9 Seth Sarakaitis
10 Paul Whaley
11 Kelly Soder
Masters 30+
1 Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Jordan Brasch (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
3 Marc Walter (CCRT)
4 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
5 Kevin Burke (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
6 Chris Spence (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
7 Rick McGee (CCRT)
8 John Lefler, Jr. (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
9 Mark Brackenbury (AJC)
10 Robert Helton
Masters 40+
1 Greg Shimonek (BBC)
2 Buck Hood
3 Steven Hurless
4 Mike Seranson
5 Denny Gregory
Masters 50+
1 Robert Sack
2 John Varga (Husker Road)
Women (Open)
1 Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Dawn Clements (Runza Racing)
3 Renee Carter (OBCR)
4 Sarah Evans
1 TJ Prieur

Previous USA Results