Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 22-29, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Road Race - Pick-a-Part Handicap

Bayles, VIC, June 22, 2002

Snozza rips apart the Pick-a-Part

Report and results courtesy Malcolm Sawford

The Pick-a-Part Handicap has been sponsored by Melbourne's leading automotive self salvage wrecking yard for the past few year's, and Peter O'Callaghan was generous enough to put his hand in his pocket once again. Strong winds blew again for the first handicap of the season over the Bayles circuit. The two long cross wind stretches had wreaked havoc on the bunches in the opening leg of the Queen's Birthday tour two weeks earlier, and promised to make it another tough day in the office - although at least this time no one should have been trying to decimate the bunch from the get go!

A field of over 90 riders fronted for the three lap title race; a good turn out for the depths of winter and with a good portion of the in form riders off doing battle at the Preston Mountain Classic Open race. After a last minute unsuccessful attempt to involve some old heads in the arcane art of handicapping, the novice handicapper (yours truly!) arrived at 10 bunches, with a 28 minute advantage for the limit bunch.

As the leading limit riders crossed the line with two laps to go, and a good part of their advantage still intact, I was beginning to worry whether some of the Club's elder statesmen might have reneged on their promises to do the right thing and hold back a little.

The 8 minute bunch, powered by Martin Fluendy, Andrew Molloy, Paul Lumsden and Jack McGowan Handicap winner David Buntin (City Cycles) were combining well, and made up lots of time in the cross wind legs on the second lap, while behind the smallish Scratch bunch had been further handicapped by the late withdrawal of big Andrew Steele (Le Tour Cycles), who had locked his keys in the car before getting changed!

Still with three SBR team mates riding off scratch (Kristjan Snorrason, Chris Carr and Rob Young), and a 'chopping block' bunch only 2 minutes ahead, before long the back markers found their rhythm and began to peg back the leaders. As the 8 minute bunch overhauled first the 11 minute bunch, then the 14 and 17 and 21 minute groups early in the 3rd lap, and with only the Limit riders plugging away in front, 'Snozza' put the bit between his teeth and launched off the front of the Scratch bunch with over 20km to ride. The middle markers finally reeled in the tiring outmarkers at the Tynong turn, but seemed to run out of puff a little in the headwind leg to Nar Nar Goon.

Snozza blasted up to the leaders rounding the corner, and hugging the left hand gutter quickly rode them all off his wheel and set sail for home. The pack of over 30 were soon strung out with only the front handful getting any shelter in the cross wind, and the tail-enders began to lose contact.

Ian Johnson tried to take a leaf out of the SBR handbook and put the bunch in the gutter, and succeeded in forcing a gap in a bid to steal second. Unfortunately, there's a bit of a horsepower difference between the popular Club rider and our former Australian Time Trial Champion, and the pack gradually reeled him in before the final corner and the 3km tail wind stretch to the finish.

Just as it looked that the middle markers would fight out the minor placings with the finish in sight, the remains of the Scratch bunch blasted past. Without the benefit of the crosswind though, their screaming legs didn't have enough left to stay clear though, and a bunch of around 20 made things tough for the judges as the sprint for 2nd started. Nearly 2 minutes after Snorrason crossed for an outstanding win, Paul Lumsden lead the rest home, from Rob Tidey (O'Mara Cycles), with David Buntin taking 4th on the day.

World Masters Time Trial Champ Debbie Hobbs finished with the bunch after working strongly all day to take out the Women's prize, while partner Martin Fluendy took 5th overall and the 'Over 50's' prize. 13 year old Kieran Murphy (CBD Cycles), riding off limit, was the first Junior to finish, and only lost contact with the front group on the last crosswind section; an outstanding ride for this star of tomorrow.

In the Junior racing, held over 1 lap of the windy circuit, Ararat tour winner Tess Downing (Le Tour Cycles) proved too strong once again for sister and team mate Erin, with the consistent Louise Bourke taking 3rd.

Again special mention to the volunteers who helped ensure all riders safety on the day, and also to the Bayles Fauna Park Volunteers Committee for putting on a post race BBQ and canteen (it's about time we got some locals onside!). Commissaire John Nicholson; corner marshals Daryl Annells, Maurice Murray, Mick Hollingworth and Frank 'Cipo' Cipriano; lead car drivers Frank Murphy, Doug Moody, Rob Aughey, Jim Smyth, David Downing and Barry Kelly; Junior riding marshals Greg Lane and Simon Quick; and Lorraine Collings at the registration table all helped ensure a good days racing for all. Next weekend's racing is Scratch races at the hilly Modella circuit, on Saturday the 29th kicking off at 1.30pm.

Results, 91km

1 Kristjan Snorrason (Carnegie Caulfield CC)       2.09.45
2 Paul Lumsden (Blackburn CC)                         1.40
3 Rob Tidey (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 David Buntin (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
5 Martin Fluendy (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
6 David Coppinger (Northcote CC)
7 Martin Peeters (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
8 Murray Spink (Dirt Riders CC)
9 Troy Jordan (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
10 Jeremy Bonney (Coburg CC)
First Woman - Debra Hobbs (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
First Masters 50 - Martin Fluendy (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
First Junior - Kieran Murphy (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
Juniors 30km
1 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Erin Downing (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Louise Bourke (Blackburn CC)



Australian results from the past week

Barkley Challenge - Tour of Mt Isa
Illawarra Cycle Club
Iron Mike Classic Handicap Canberra CC Rd 6
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Mudgee Road Open Handicap (Mark Dwyer Memorial)
NSW Criterium Championships
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tin Can Bay Invitation


Complete Australian results for 2002