Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Tour of Southland - 2.5

New Zealand, November 4-9, 2002

2001 Results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - November 4: Computerland Criterium, 24 km
  • Stage 2 - November 4: Invercargill - Bluff, 52 km
  • Stage 3 - November 5: Invercargill - Tuatapere, 98.4 km
  • Stage 4 - November 5: Tuatapere - Winton, 94.7 km
  • Stage 5 - November 6: Lumsden - Crown Range, 136.8 km
  • Stage 6 - November 7: Balfour - Riversdale Time Trial , 15 km
  • Stage 7 - November 7: Gore - Invercargill, 104 km
  • Stage 8 - November 8: Winton - Te Anau, 156.3 km
  • Stage 9 - November 9: Te Anau - Lumsden, 80 km
  • Stage 10 - November 9: Winton - Invercargill, 64.4 km


By Alan Messenger

New Zealand's Tour of Southland which gets under way from Invercargill at the bottom of the south Island on Monday November 4th is the country's oldest established and it's biggest cycling tour. The race was first held in 1956 as part of the Southland province Centennial celebrations. It was intended to be a "one off" but 46 years later it is still going strong.

"It just keeps getting bigger and better," race organiser Bruce Ross told Cyclingnews.

Other major Tours have come and gone in New Zealand but only the Southland event has stood the test of time. "It's a lot because of the loyal support the event receives from the sport loving Southland Public. For one week in November many communities throughout the region grind to a halt as the Tour winds its way around the Province," Ross said.

Since its inception, the Tour has attracted the cream of New Zealand cycling talent. The winners list includes the Sport's biggest Kiwi names: Warwick Dalton, Tino Tabak, Paul Jesson, Eric McKenzie and in recent years Jack Swart, Brian Fowler, Stephen Cox and Graeme Miller.

Eight time winner Fowler is back in the field this year, riding as a veteran but he says that it will definitely be his last. Swart is also making a sentimental return to the race this year.

Only two overseas riders, both Australian, have ever won the tour, Malcolm Powell in 1964 and David Gee in 1970 but that may be about to change. The race has been sanctioned as a UCI event and with it there is an influx of overseas riders.

Among them is the well seasoned Aussie David McKenzie. The tough Victorian finished fourth in the recent Sun Tour. He also lists on his CV a win in the 2001 Melbourne to Warrnambool Classic and he's a former Australian Road Champion, not to mention his Giro d'Italia stage win in 2000. McKenzie will be well supported by two top line Kiwis Scott Guyton and Lee Vertongen.

Four recent winners are back in the field this year. Guyton, Glen Mitchell, Gordon McCauley and last year's winner Karl Moore must all be considered serious contenders again. Last week at Invercargill McCauley won his third national Road Championship and also the Time Trial Title.

Start list

Rabobank                          Calder Stewart
1 Karl Moore (NZl)                6 Chris Horner (USA)
2 Ryan Russell (NZl)              7 Eric Wohlberg (Can)
3 Glenn Mitchell (NZl)            8 Peter Rogers (Aus)
4 Tom Leaper (Aus)                9 Michael Johnson (Aus)
5 Marc Ryan (NZl)                 10 Hilton Clarke (Aus)
Ascot Park Hotel                  Zookeepers Cafe
11 Tiaan Kannemeyer (RSA)         16 Gordon McCauley (NZl)
12 Ryan Cox (RSA)                 17 Heath Blackgrove (NZl)
13 Rodney Green (RSA)             18 Karl Murray (NZl)
14 Morne Bester (NZl)             19 Jeremy Yates (NZl)
15 Johan Van Der Berg (RSA)       20 Matthew Yates (NZl)
Winton's Middle Pub               Meadow Fresh
21 Brian Fowler (NZl)             26 Stuart Lowe (NZl)
22 Hayden Godfrey (NZl)           27 Andrew Reid (NZl)
23 John Lieswyn (USA)             28 Robin Reid (NZl)
24 Kevin Monahan (USA)            29 Jason Allen (Aus)
25 Ben Robson (NZl)               30 Phillip Schnyder (Swi)
Southland Times                   Sycamore Print
31 Scott Guyton (NZl)             36 James Hannam (Aus)
32 David McKenzie (Aus)           37 Russell Vanhout (Aus)
33 Phillip Thuaux (Aus)           38 Ryan Cull (NZl)
34 Lee Vertongen (NZl)            39 Jaarod Poad (NZl)
35 Marc Mackay (NZl)              40 Chris Boersen (NZl)
SouthRoads                        Cycle Surgery
41 Scott Allen (NZl)              46 David Thomson (NZl)
42 Peter Latham (NZl)             47 John Laidlaw (NZl)
43 Tim Gudsell (NZl)              48 Danny Hillary (NZl)
44 Michael Leaf (NZl)             49 Craig Thomson (NZl)
45 James Stephenson (NZl)         50 Logan Hutchings (NZl)
Share The Road                    SBS
51 Jack Swart (NZl)               56 Travis Kane (NZl)
52 Aaron Strong (NZl)             57 Ashley Whitehead (NZl)
53 Paul Sumich (NZl)              58 Leigh Chapman (NZl)
54 Marc Watson (NZl)              59 Bevan Mason (NZl)
55 Matt Gilbert (NZl)             60 John Alabaster (NZl)
Hilo Decorating                   Creation Signs
61 Nick Atkinson (NZl)            66 Paul Whitley (NZl)
62 Stephen Collins (NZl)          67 Anthony Chapman (NZl)
63 Nick Eliadis (NZl)             68 Dallas Williams (NZl)
64 Brad Mcfarlane (NZl)           69 Ben Lowe (NZl)
65 Antoinne De Haan (NZl)         70 Joseph Chapman (NZl)
Mercury TV                        Jackson-Wills
71 Alasdair Duncan (NZl)          76 Andrew Bott (NZl)
72 Andrew Widdup (NZl)            77 Jeremy Vennell (NZl)
73 Mark Bailey (NZl)              78 Dan Warren (NZl)
74 Johnathon Atkinson (NZl)       79 Tony Fowler (NZl)
75 Scott Strong (NZl)             80 Tim Paviell (NZl)
Riverside Rentals
81 Matthew Webber (NZl)
82 Andrew Eagles (NZl)
83 Jason Clement (NZl)
84 Callum Henderson (NZl)
85 Peter Blake (NZl)

Past winners

2001 Karl Moore (NZl) Southroads                     
2000 Glen Mitchell
1999 Graeme Miller
1998 Scott Guyton
1997 Graeme Miller
1996 Gordon McCauley
1995 Brian Fowler
1994 Doug Bath
1993 Landrey Burt
1992 Brian Fowler
1991 Stuart Lowe
1990 Brian Fowler
1989 Brian Fowler
1988 Brian Fowler
1987 Brian Fowler
1986 Brian Fowler
1985 Brian Fowler
1984 Jack Swart
1983 Jack Swart
1982 Stephen Cox
1981 Stephen Cox
1980 Anthony Cuff
1979 Eric McKenzie
1978 Paul Jesson
1977 Wayne Perkinson
1976 Paul Jesson
1975 Chris Hogan
1974 Bruce Ramsey
1973 Michael Hughes
1972 Blair Stockwell
1971 John Dean
1970 David Gee
1969 Warwick Dalton
1968 Merv Davis
1967 Tino Tabak
1966 Tino Tabak
1965 Tino Tabak
1964 Malcolm Powell (Aus)
1963 Dick Johnstone
1962 Tony Walsh
1961 Warwick Dalton
1960 Gary Ulmer
1959 Warwick Dalton
1957 Tom Tindale
1956 Kelvin Hastie

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,