Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Games Home
TV Schedule
1998 Games results
First Endurance
Best Cycling Books
Competitive Cyclist

Manchester 2002 Commonwealth Games

Manchester, England, July 27 - August 3, 2002

Main Page     Results      Previous Event      Next Event

August 2 - Men's Team Sprint, National Cycling Centre

Almost another world record for Australia

By Gerry McManus, Cyclingnews correspondent in Manchester
Aussies again
Photo: © Dave Clark
Click for larger image

It was inevitable and fitting that the team that took the 1-2-3 in the sprint competition should take the gold medal in the Olympic sprint competition in the Commonwealth Games. However it wasn't a foregone conclusion after they posted a poorer than expected qualifying time in the morning.

After a false start with the blocks failing to hold Sean Eadie (Australia), the final got off to a flying start and it was Australia with a massive lead of half a second after the first lap.

When Jamie Staff (Eng) swung off for Andy Slater (Eng) to pull back the deficit and Jobie Dajka on the front for Australia, the lead shrunk to a catchable 0.287 and it was down to the Olympic kilo champion Jason Queally (Eng) to provide super-human effort.

But sprint champion Ryan Bayley (Aus) held on for another Aussie gold.

England took the silver and a great ride for Scotland saw them beat New Zealand to the bronze.

As the teams rode the traditional lap of honour, Jamie Staff proved a crowd pleaser by riding on his BMX bike, pulling wheelies and skids to the delight of both the crowd and the media. Staff is a relative newcomer to the track having spent a number of years in America riding the pro BMX circuit.

The bearded Australian lead out man Sean Eadie was happy with the team's evening performance

"I came out here to win the sprint but Ryan (Bayley) won that, just," he quipped amusingly: "But the three of us always knew that we had come here to win the team sprint."

"We had a bad ride this morning as a team and we weren't at our best."

"At the end of a hard competition like the Commonwealth games, to get so close to the (French) world record makes us very happy."


Photos supplied by D.J. Clark



1 England                               45.192 (59.742 km/h)
 Jason Queally
 Andy Slater
 Jamie Staff

2 Australia                             45.571
 Jobie Dajka
 Sean Eadie
 Ryan Bayley

3 Scotland                              46.149
 Ross Edgar
 Chris Hoy

4 New Zealand                           46.998
 Justin Grace
 Anthony Peden
 Nathan Seddon

5 Canada                                47.023
 Jim Fisher
 Steen Madsen
 Lars Madsen

6 Malaysia                              47.874
 Fairoz Izni Abdul Ghani
 Josiah Ng Onn Lam
 Ghaffuan Ghazali

7 South Africa                          48.297
 Dean Edwards
 Jean-Pierre Van Zyl
 Shawn Lynch

8 Trinidad & Tobago                     48.971
 Azikiwe Kellar
 Clinton Grant
 Michael Phillips

9 Jamaica                               52.748
 Horace Mcfarlane
 Ricardo Lynch
 Christian Tavares-Finson

10 Bahamas                              57.965
 Barron Musgrove
 Jonathan Massie
 Johnny Hoyte


For Gold and Silver

1 Australia
 Sean Eadie
 Jobie Dajka
 Ryan Bayley
2 England
 Andy Slater
 Jason Queally
 Jamie Staff
For Bronze

3 Scotland                   44.934 (60.087 km/h)
 Craig Maclean  
 Ross Edgar  
 Chris Hoy  

4 New Zealand                45.926 
 Justin Grace  
 Anthony Peden  
 Nathan Seddon