Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Games Home
TV Schedule
1998 Games results
First Endurance
Best Cycling Books
Competitive Cyclist

Manchester 2002 Commonwealth Games

Manchester, England, July 27 - August 3, 2002

Main Page     Results      Previous Event      Next Event

July 28 - Men's 1000m Time Trial, National Cycling Centre

Flying Scotsman takes Gold

By Gerry McManus, cyclingnews.com correspondent

Chris Hoy won Scotland's first ever Gold in cycling in the Commonwealth Games by winning the kilometre time-trial on the track in the Manchester velodrome. Off second to last, he beat the new Commonwealth games record set by the Jamie Staff (England) earlier in the evening with 1:01.726.

The Olympic Champion Jason Queally (England) put a great effort in but couldn't match Hoy's speed and finished in second spot. Queally had his usual slow start and was 0.6 of a second down after one lap but his famous last lap speed wasn't enough to claw back the deficit.

Jamie Staff had thrown the gauntlet down with the new games record, which was enough to take the bronze. The 29-year-old is a new comer to track cycling having spent the last 10-years as a professional BMX rider in America winning a number of world titles. Staff's ambition is to win an Olympic gold in Athens in 2004 and hopes to get on the British Cycling squad next year.


Photos supplied by D.J. Clark


1 Chris Hoy (Scotland)                  1.01.726 (58.32 km/h)
2 Jason Queally (England)               1.01.947
3 Jamie Staff (England)                 1.02.456
4 Benny Kersten (Australia)             1.02.736
5 Hayden Godfrey (New Zealand)          1.04.211
6 Danny Day (Australia)                 1.04.236
7 Jim Fisher (Canada)                   1.04.852
8 Matt Sinton (New Zealand)             1.06.028
9 Justin Grace (New Zealand)            1.06.342
10 Shawn Kelly (Barbados)               1.07.773
11 Joby Ingram-Dodd (Wales)             1.08.509
12 Ako Kellar (Trinidad)                1.09.510
13 Dilsher Ali (Pakistan)               1.15.582
14 Barron Musgrove (Bahamas)            1.16.170
15 Johnny Hoyte (Bahamas)               1.18.696