Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

50km scratch road race, Loxton, South Australia, Sunday October 29, 2006

Sprint battle for second place
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)

By Janelle Stevens

The first race of the 2006 Riverland Cycling Club Championships was held on Sunday. A 50km road race along Paruna road, Loxton, saw 13 riders nominate to gain maximum points for the Club Championship. Members were also competing for 'First Female' over the line, along with gaining consistency points to be the best in their grade.

Lara MacKirdy first female across the line
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)

Many may have thought it would be a tough battle from the first kilometre to the last, however country style racing etiquette shone through with only a tussle at the end to decide the top spots. That was of course except for poor Megan Taylor who was left behind at the start line by an over enthusiastic John Eshman. He may have been completely un-aware of the happenings, but in true Eshman style he pulled up at the half waypoint to wait for his fellow club member to join him in completing the race.

There were 10 remaining competitors in the main group and riders new if they were to stay together it would come down do a bunch sprint. There was a brief split during the race but as the speed dropped the group behind easily caught them and consequently a sprint decided the top placings.

Craig Ward found himself on the front of the pack - his early decision to go caught a few by surprise. Unfortunately for Craig, the last kilometre didn't quite go to plan as, among others, Hamish MacKirdy, Lee Stevens and Chris Stevens took off from the main field to reel him in and take over the sprint finish.

With 50 km of racing over, it was amazing to see the field finish as they did. Hamish MacKirdy may have won the first race of the Club Championship, but a fierce sprint battle for second-place saw Lee Stevens narrowly beat the strong finishing Chris Stevens with Craig to follow. Lara MacKirdy placed sixth behind Marcus Whitting but claimed First Female for the 50km scratch race.



1 Hamish MacKirdy               13
2 Lee Stevens                   12
3 Chris Stevens                 11
4 Craig Ward                    10
5 Marcus Whitting                9
6 Lara MacKirdy                  8
7 Angelo Ylia                    7
8 Peter Evans                    6
9 Amanda Steele                  5
10 Peter Weston                  4
11 Ruth Strout                   3
12 Megan Taylor                  2
13 John Eshman                   1

Local results 2006