Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

TradeLink Spring Classic – Mandogalup October 22, 2006

Gavin Parsonage took line honours in the Stan Fennell Tradelink Spring Classic Road Race last Sunday. The handicap event organised by the Peel Cycling Club covered 63kms of semi rural roads around Mandogalup. In ideal conditions, 87 competitors entered the 17th edition of the Classic including last year’s winner Mark Petterson. The limit markers Heather Sanderson and Ruth Haslam had a great day winning primes on lap 1 and 2 respectively. Sheona Clark again proved very strong to be the first lady across the line as she did in 2005.

The scratch riders were in fine fettle and with Hilton McMurdo, Petterson, Parsonage, Andrew Brierley and George Miller pushing the limits to swallow up the field. On the final climb 4kms from the line McMurdo led the pack of 45 riders clambering for position. Parsonage, the 1994 winner of Australia’s biggest one day event the Melbourne to Warrnambool Road Classic of 275km, had all the answers in a decisive sprint to the line. Brierley hung on for second with Paul Brown third, Russell Fulton fourth with Parsonage also clocking the fastest time of 1hr 28mins.

The Bonzer Time Trials are underway every Wednesday commencing at 5.15pm on Hopelands Road.


1 G. Parsonage                                       1.28.00
2 A. Brierley                                               
3 P. Brown                                              2.45
4 R. Fulton                                             4.30
5 G. Burt                                                   
6 P. Hare                                              14.30
7 R. van Moorsell                                       4.30
8 G. Miller (Scratch)                                               
9 P. Moke                                               2.45
10 G. Collett                                           4.30
11 D. Berglund                                              
12 G. Muston                                            2.45
13 G. Woodland                                          6.30
14 S. Carton (Scratch)                                               
15 D. Townson                                           4.30
First Lady Sheona Clark
Fastest Time G. Parsonage                                    
2nd Fastest  A. Brierley                                     
Lap 1 Prime  Heather Sanderson                              
Lap 2 Prime  Ruth Haslam                                    
Lap 3 Prime  C. Bloomfield                                   
Lap 4 Prime  C. Bloomfield                                   

Local results 2006