Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

2006 Coburg Open Road Race Championships

Sunday, October 8, 2006, New Gisborne - Mt Macedon, 86km / 56km

The Jim Gleisner & Fred McNamara Perpetual Trophy

By Paul Logan

The Coburg Club Championships were held over a brand new and typical 'Logan' torture circuit. The morning greeted the riders with strong and blustery south westerly winds and temperatures as cold as seven degrees centigrade at the top of Mt Macedon. Only the strongest and most persistent riders would win today.

The Masters 4+, Women and Juniors would race 55km, just avoiding the normal Newham-Lancefield loop. The riders were already reported being blown off the road even whilst the race was under control. However, the field was split apart once the race reached the very difficult Mt Eliza-Kerrie Valley Road, with eight significant climbs over the next 12km. (Brooke actually counted them all!). Only six remained after half the race was run, with still the 7km climb to Mt Macedon remaining. From then on, only the strong prevailed with Kevin Russell taking a strong victory at the summit. Brooke was the only remaining woman to finish, thus becoming Coburg Women's Club Champion. 14 year-old Josh Ferrie rode an impressive race becoming Junior Club Champion finishing only seven minutes behind Russell.

The Elite/Masters 2 & 3 race was always going to be a race of attrition with a couple of top-class riders from other clubs coming out to race. The pace at the beginning and on Mt Eliza road over the climbs was really on, and riders we being dropped on every climb. Poor Ian McGinley in his first ever race was dropped early but to his credit struggled on in the gale force winds finishing at the top of the mountain in good shape. As the riders entered the Newham-Lancefield circuit, Miller and Lovelock (both Hawthorn CC) attacked and with the Coburg riders watching each other, took no interest in chasing. With only a handful of riders remaining it looked like it was going to come down to a race up the final climb. At the base of the mountain only Short, Logan, McDonough, Bertovic, Laird and Wornes from Coburg, Bradshaw (St Kilda) and Denmead (Hawthorn) remained. During the first half of the climb, a couple of attacks, especially a really hard one from McDonough, reduced the field to only four. Bradshaw had done a massive amount of work and could now no longer go with the pace. Laird and Denmead also finally found the pace just a little too hot. In the final kilometre, Wornes had the best legs opening a small lead which he would hold to the end. Meanwhile, Lovelock exploded on the climb taking out the overall victory over Miller by 2:30min in an impressive climb to the summit.

Special thanks to Jamie Hanson (chief commissaire), the Condon and Logan families, Warren Smith and all the Coburg corner marshals (Steve P, Wayne D'Agostini, Anthony Somers and Andres Rojas) for standing out there in such atrocious conditions.

Open Results (86km)
1. Jono Lovelock (Haw) 2.21.59 2. Shane Miller (Haw) 2:21 3. Justin Wornes 6:25 - Club Champion 4. Tom McDonough 6:35 5. David Bertovic 6. Paul Logan 6:49 7. Jason Laird 8:10 8. James Bradshaw (StK) 8:26 9. Fraser Short 8:31 10. Stewart Denmead (Haw) 14:18 11. Tim Kirkham (Foo) 18:43 12. Wayne Gebert 21:28 13. Orazio Lo Castro (Ita) 21:32 13. Mick Skerritt 26:35 14. Ian McGinley 1.03.00 DNF Andrew Robinson
Masters 4+/Women/Juniors (56km) 

1. Kevin Russell                          1.47.19              
2. Paul Davine                               0.37              
3. James Butler (Mac)                        0.53 (Jnr)             
4. Mel Humphreys-Grey                        1.12               
5. Laurie Lovelock (Haw)                     1.47               
6. Peter Ferrie                              2.04               
7. Josh Ferrie                               7.01 (Jnr)             
8. David Butler (Mac)           
9. Brooke Condon                            11.36 (Women)           
10. Greg Gillard                            26.41               
11. Sam Lilley                            1.04.27 (Jnr)


Local results 2006