Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Latrobe City Cycling Club

28th Morwell to Glenmaggie (65kms) Handicap, Morwell, Victoria, October 8, 2006

Wayne Tunks wins LCCC Classic Combine Handicap

The race attracted 36 starters from four Gippsland clubs, Bairnsdale Riviera CC, Wellington CC, Warragul CC and Latrobe City CC. The LCCC handicapper, Dave Shanahan, with assistance of Jim Jones and Chris Beales separated the competitors into three groups - 10, 16 minutes with the scratch group starting at 23 minutes. The first group of eight riders set a fast pace from the outset and before it turned into the APM road the bunch had already dropped to five as Sue Elsdon, Gita Walker, Caroline Jewell and Jim Coomber (BRCC) lost contact.

Meanwhile the 10 minute bunch, including Neil Walker, Ashley Lucas, John Kirk, Andrew Mckernan, Norm Gray, were not working as well as they should have and made little ground on the first group. The 16 minute bunch of Phil McNeil, Chris Beales, Mark Oakley-Browne, Simon Burns, Andrew Crozier, Brent Sword, Ken Porter and Simone Spyker found the going tough and were soon in the clutches of the scratch group which included Luke Handley, Jim Allen Timmer-Arends, John Mckenzie, Dave Gafa, Roland Elsdon, Dave Shanahan and Shris Joustra.

Up front McCurley broke away after a courageous ride nearing Heyfield, leaving just three at the head of the race who were some two minutes ahead of the 10 minute bunch.

Three riders from the 16minute group lead the remaining riders by some two minutes as the race neared a close. Among the trio Wayne Tunks, riding the strongest, kept the pace high each time he went to the front and as they turned into Weir Road, it was clear they had a battle on their hands. The message from the side of the road was that the bunch behind were around 500 or 600 meters behind and closing, but with 300 metres to go Tunks (LCCC) sprinted clear to take a well earned victory.

Ian Wood (LCCC) was second and Ross Wembridge (BRCC) came in third. Andrew McKernan (LCCC) from the 10-minute bunch crossed the line less that 30secs later to take fourth place. The scratch bunch, lead by Shane Stiles (Warragul CC), came in a few minutes later to take Fastest Time in around 1hr 29minutes for the 65kms race.


1 Wayne Tunks                                                        1.46.00
2 Ian Wood
3 Ross Wembridge
4 Andrew McKernan

Local results 2006