Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Sandown Twilight Series, Tuesday November 28, 2006

By Mal Sawford

Warren Knevitt
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Pat Lane
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Former masters world champ
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

There was no doubt that racing would be on at Sandown tonight, with blue skies and the temperature in the mid twenties greeting over 200 riders. With big bunches, and a relatively still night, the sprinters had a field day, with all four races decided by bunch sprints.

There were plenty of aggressive riders in A Grade, with the usual suspects including Peter Barnett (SHM), Guy Green (Le Tour Cycles), Grant Matthews and Ross Mueller (Salter Cycles) making regular attempts to go clear, but without lasting success.

With a bunch kick brewing, Barnett kept the pace high in the final laps allowing team mate Brendan Rowbotham to lead the 66 rider field home, ahead of Dale Woonton, Chris Tymms and Green. Rowbotham has become known for his often successful opening lap attacks recently, and has recorded a string of minor places - but now the sprinters have something to fear as well!

Damein Jones (Hampton Cycles) made it back to back wins in B Grade with another clear win, and will now get the chance to show his speed in A Grade. Chelsea rider Steel Van Hoff could be following him shortly with a fine second place, emerging from a wall of riders to snatch second from Steve Brooks and Melbourne Bicycle Centres pair Jarrad Anderson and Michael Vogt. Nicole Whitburn (Mainline Cycles) led Nikki Matthews home in the women's division.

Bryan Stewart (Borsari Cycles) picked up the C Grade win in his first race after a long layoff, after a threatening break by Doug Reynolds (Doherty Engineering), Brent Tomlinson, Nathan Pearson and Ross Jones was reeled in on the final lap.

First time rider Mark Krantz sprinted into second place, ahead of Reynolds and George Greenall, with Kerrie Howard (Fitzroy Cycles) just holding off Michelle Murrell for the ladies win.

Thirteen year-old Calvin Watson wasn't handicapped by his restricted gear in the dash to the line, hitting the front a long way from home and sprinting to a clear win in D Grade, ahead of Robert Doyle, Michael Boyce and Jose Valles, with Annie Jensen (Kathy Watt Cycling) the leading woman ahead of Meredith Nash.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. Twilight racing at Sandown Raceway is held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown International Raceway. Entry is via the Sandown Road gate from 6pm (Melways map 80 B6), with racing starting at 6.30pm for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2007 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. Returning riders must resume in the grade in which they last raced, unless prior arrangements are made with the handicapper.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade
1 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Chris Tymms (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Guy Green (Blackburn)                     
5 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)       
6 Michael Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)         
B Grade
1 Damien Bourke (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Steel Van Hoff (Chelsea & Peninsula)      
3 Steve Brooks (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Jarrad Anderson (Carnegie Caulfield)      
5 Michael Vogt (Carnegie Caulfield)         
Women Nicole Whitburn (Warragul)            
C Grade
1 Bryan Stewart (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Mark Ktantz (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Doug Reynolds (Blackburn)                 
4 George Greenall (Mornington)              
Women Michelle Murrell (Mornington)         
D Grade
1 Calvin Watson (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Robert Doyle (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Michael Boyce (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Jose Valles (Carnegie Caulfield)          
Women Anni Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)     
2 Meredith Nash (Footscray)                  

Local results 2006