Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums, Victoria, Sunday November 12, 2006

By Malcolm Sawford

Overnight rain and some early morning showers kept numbers down a little, but conditions at Glenvale Crescent were surprisingly good and all five races were completed as scheduled.

An early break of five opened a handy lead on the A Grade bunch, with Anthony Smith and Damon De Angelis (Promains) joined by Casey Munro (Drapac-Porsche), Dale Woonton and two time winner Pete Johnstone (Inexa Race Frames). With little cooperation towards a chase from the main bunch, the leaders were quickly clear by the length of the straight.

Johnstone's team mate Matt Shea policed every attempt to bridge to the leaders, but eventually a more co-ordinated chase saw the leaders back in sight. Simon Frost (Fitzroy Cycles) lifted the pace markedly each time he rolled through, and after a couple of the youngster's big turns the bunch reformed with fifteen minutes remaining.

A succession of counter attacks by Johnstone, Smith, James Shpeherdson (Datacom-Burnley Finance) and Simon Bone saw the bunch strung out and put a few out of contention before Frost hit the afterburners when the pace eased for a moment.

Frost powered away, and after a ten minute time trail rode to a well deserved win. De Angelis and Woonton attacked separately on the penultimate lap to claim the next two places, while Munro led the remnants of the shattered bunch home for fourth.

An early attack by most of the usual suspects in B Grade paid off, with Bob Kelly, Clive Hickey, Grant Matthews, Matt Edsall, Nick Palecek (Richmond Cyclery), Damien Jones (Hampton Cycles), James Attard and Datacom-Burnley Finance team mates Paul Kelly and Richard Cormick combining well to put the main field out of contention.

Matthews launched an unsuccessful final lap attack, but the group rounded the final corner together. Attard hit the front early and was never headed, taking the win ahead of Pelacek and Hickey. Forty seconds later, Nicole Whitburn (Mainline Cycles) finished at the head of the main field to take the women's section win, ahead of Rachel Rademaker (Cycle Link) and Sophie Ruderman (Team FBUK).

Some of the C Grade riders found the damp conditions somewhat to their liking, while others were a little more cautious and as a result the bunch was fairly quickly strung out around the course. Revelling in the conditions were youngsters Matt Collins (CBD Cycles) and Joshua Lose, who powered away to fight for the win, with Collins victorious; both impressed enough to tackle the B Grade bunch next time round. Claudio Abreu time trialled home in third place, with fourth place going to Paul McMullen after another strong solo effort.

Clare Vlahopolous continued her run of wins in the women's section and must be getting mighty close to a B Grade start. Carly McCoombe and Michelle Murrell filled the minor placings.

Michael Milewski powered away from the D Grade bunch in the second half of the race to finish twenty seconds clear of the bunch, which was led home by the previous week's winner Dale Reith, with the top tho headed C Grade's way next week. Alex Lockie sprinted into third while Meg Russell showed some sprinting speed with her good win in the women's race ahead of Radelle Berriman and Shannon McCurley.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. Twilight racing at Sandown Raceway commences this Tuesday, November 14, at 6.30pm. Entry is via the Sandown Road gate from 6pm (Melways map 80 B6).

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2007 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Malcolm Sawford


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps (24 Starters)
1 Simon Frost (Blackburn)                      
2 Damon De Angelis (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Casey Munro (Brunswick)                      
5 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)           
6 James Shepherdson (Carnegie Caulfield)       
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps (42 Starters)
1 James Attard (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Nick Palecek (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Clive Hickey (Chelsea & Peninsula)           
4 Damien Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)            
5 Grant Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)          
1 Nicole Whitburn (Warragul)                   
2 Rachel Rademaker (Blackburn)                 
3 Sophie Ruderman (England)                    
C Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps (29 Starters)
1 Matthew Collins (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Joshua Lose (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Claudio Abreu (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Paul McMullen (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Clare Vlahopolous (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Carly McCoombe (Bendigo)                     
3 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)                
D Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps (38 Starters)
1 Michael Milewski (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Dale Reith (Blackburn)                       
3 Alex Lockie (Carnegie Caulfield)             
4 Daniel Lewis-Toakley (Carnegie Caulfield)    
1 Meg Russell (Carnegie Caulfield)             
2 Radelle Berriman (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Shannon McCurley (Latrobe City)              
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps (12 starters)
1 Will Thomas (Blackburn)                      
2 Luke Parker (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Clement Boydell (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Mitchell Sutherland (Carnegie Caulfield)     

Local results 2006