Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Broadford-Seymour Cycling Club

Victoria, Sunday November 5, 2006

By Jeff Hibberd

The Summer racing season started with a 44km handicap on the Mangalore-Avenel service road loop. Twenty-two riders started from Burgess Signs and finished the race in Avenel Road.

The combined chasing group led by the scratch riders, Silas Fisher, Alan Adams and Ron Burgess caught the leaders at Mangalore with five-kilometers remaining and lifting the pace to the finish. Fisher, who is riding in great style, powered to the line to win and record fastest time.

Bret Loney from the two-minute group sprinted well to grab second place from co-marker Jeff Hibberd, third. Shane Edwards was forth and Alan Adams, fifth.

At Saturday's presentation dinner the major award winners were recognised. These were: Ron Burgess 2006 Club Champion, Alan Adams 2006 Summer season champion, Bret Loney Summer aggregate champion and Brett Bender, Winter and combined aggregate winner - a well deserved reward for Brett's consistent riding. The Bill Schulz Most Improved Rider award went to Kevin Simmons - who gained a State Championship title in the Masters Time Trial and a very close second place in the road-race championship at State level.

This year Alan Adams, Silas Fisher, Ron Burgess, Kevin Simmons, Jeff Hibberd, Bret Loney, Bret Bender, Shane Edwards, Warren Osborne, Rhys Melville and Ian Baker competed in open events, and these riders and their performances were recognised on the night.

The Twilight racing season is now underway - these events are from O'Connors Road, Mangalore on Tuesday evenings, starting at 1815 hours. Next Saturday's event, on November 11, is from Strath Creek at 1400 hours.


1 Silas Fisher                                                                  01.06.00
2 Bret Loney
3 Jeff Hibberd
4 Shane Edwards
5 Alan Adams
6 Ron Burgess
7 Glenn Christensen
8 Ian Baker
9 Warren Osborne
10 Glen Jacobs

Local results 2006