Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Riverland Cycling Club

South Australia, January 24, 2006

Josh Steele rode away for a well earned win in Riverland A grade criterium racing on Tuesday night. In a race of constant attacks between riders Steele managed to have enough energy in reserve to make his breakaway move one and half laps from the finish. It seemed the other riders didn't think much would come of the attack by Steele as no one responded with a counterattack. Finally on the last lap MacKirdy decided to chase Steele down but was unsuccessful with Steele crossing the line with a handy 30m gap to MacKirdy. Nigel Willoughby claimed third place, inching out a tired Stevens.

In B grade, seven riders made this one of the toughest and quickest B grade races in recent memory. The large group ensuring that there were to be no moments of rest as each of the riders took their turn in trying to break up the group with an surge of speed out of a corner or up the hill. Ben Vagnarelli was the first to drop off the group followed by Greg Hatcher as the pace and frequency of surges increased during the closing laps, especially from Chris Stevens. The final corner approached and the five remaining riders worked hard to position themselves for a successful sprint. Mick Grey lead the sprint closely followed by Mark Kershaw and got themselves a small buffer on chasers Stevens, Lara MacKirdy and Angus Boase. But at the line it was again Grey too strong in the sprint, edging out Kershaw for the win. Stevens crossed the line soon after in third place.

A smaller C grade group didn't prevent it from being a closely fought affair with John Eshman claiming a win from the ever consistent Peter Weston. Elton Reimann claimed third place from Angelo Ylia. Eshman's win showed he is reaping the benefits of the extra training his is doing and that with his racing experience will be hard to beat over the coming weeks. The D grade race saw Michael Anderson score his third consecutive win, easily accounting for his fellow riders in Graham Butt and Gordon Lawton. Anderson will probably find himself going up a grade next race but the new challenge will be welcomed by the young rider.


A Grade
1 Josh Steele         
2 Hamish MacKirdy     
3 Nigel Willoughby    
4 Lee Stevens         
B Grade
1 Mick Grey           
2 Mark Kershaw        
3 Chris Stevens       
4 Angus Boase         
5 Lara MacKirdy       
6 Greg Hatcher        
7 Ben Vagnarelli      
C Grade
1 John Eshman         
2 Peter Weston        
3 Elton Reimann       
4 Angelo Ylia         
D Grade
1 Michael Anderson    
2 Graham Butt         
3 Gordon Lawton       

Local results 2004