Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

NSW, February 19, 2006

Morris and Morris

Father and son, Dave and Tim Morris, triumphed in their 36km scratch races in C and A grade respectively on Sunday at the Illawarra Cycle Club.

Tim Morris outsprinted Danny Hennessey in the elite race. Morris and Hennessey attacked throughout the race, and with many of the other starters currently involved in specific training for upcoming open events, the race time of 50:33 was one of the fastest ever over the 36km course.

Ben Kersten, stretching his legs as he starts to taper down for the upcoming Commonwealth Games, led the bunch home in third place.

The handicapper will be taking a keen interest in the Bgrade race results which again ended in triumph for “Team Internationale” with Tony Pulo first, “team mate” Joe Periera second and Tony Stephenson third in the bunch sprint finish.

Dave Morris took a well deserved victory in C grade after trying to escape the bunch a couple of times without success. Morris finally took advantage of a hesitant bunch to ride away with 2km remaining. Alan Kerr caught Morris on the finish line but was unable to get his wheel in front. Peter Evans finished an unlucky third place after working hard throughout the race


A Grade - 36km
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)            50.33
2 Danny Hennessy (Sth Highlands)     0.01
3 Ben Kersten (St George)            0.08
4 Craig Paull (Illawarra)            0.09
5 Mark Davis (Illawarra)             0.16
6 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)                
7 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)                 
8 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)           0.24
9 James Greathead (Illawarra)        0.31
B Grade - 36km
1 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)             58.12
2 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)               
3 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)            
4 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)               
5 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)               
6 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)            
7 Con Karlis (Illawarra)                 
8 David Russell (Illawarra)              
9 Alan Vucko (Illawarra)                 
10 Adrian White (Illawarra)              
11 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)            
12 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)          
13 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)         0.23
14 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)          0.36
DNF Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)           
DNF Brian Joyce (Illawarra)              
C Grade - 36km
1 David Morris (Illawarra)        1.01.51
2 Alan Kerr (Illawarra)                  
3 Peter Evans (Illawarra)            0.06
4 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)              0.20
5 Darren Gordon (Illawarra)          0.43
6 Paul du Bois (Sutherland Shire)    1.01
7 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)                
8 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)        3.36
9 Sarah Whipp (Illawarra)                
DNF Michael Shannon (Illawarra)          
DNF David Bowen (UnKnown)