Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Sandown Raceway, Vic, Tuesday February 14, 2006

By Mal Sawford

Vaughan Bowman
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Mick Hollingworth
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Richard Naylor
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
All together
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Cupid must be sympathetic to the bike racing fraternity, with another big field assembling to race on Valentine's Day evening. No doubt the winners were all planning on calling into late night florists on the way home, though, just to stay in the good books!

On an unusually calm night, the A Grade bunch stayed together for two thirds of the race, with any attacks quickly neutralised, but late in proceedings a series of counter attacks resulted in the bunch splitting. Riders on the right side of the split included Taigh Banson (SHM), Pete Johnstone (Inexa), Vaughan Bowman (Le Tour Cycles), Scott Jensen (Nepean Cycles), Aiden McInernay (Team UNO) and Anthony Smith (Promains). Last to cross the gap were Phil Indivino and Nick Walker (CBD Cycles), and with fifteen riders rolling strongly through, the bunch was quickly out of contention.

Inexa series leader Tommy Nankervis (Fitzroy Cycles) was also there, but with a rapidly and loudly disintegrating bottom bracket didn't contest the finish. Walker softened the group up with a series of surges in the final laps, and had little trouble powering home to take the win ahead of Adrian Salter (Salter Cycles), Bowman and Smith.

Bruce Will and Russell Newnham (Pro-Motion Bicycles) escaped the huge B Grade bunch with twenty minutes to race, and opened a 100 metre advantage before the bunch led by the Burnley Finance the Univega Women's teams managed to stabilise the margin. As the race drew to a close, the two leaders were still plugging away, but even late reinforcement in the way of Simon Vandestadt (Pro-Motion) just before the final lap couldn't prevent the bunch regrouping.

Young Sean Bourke shot out of the bunch 100 metres from home, and looked to be headed to the win, before Sam Salter blasted off his wheel to snatch victory by two inches. Nick Palecek was next home ahead of Canadian Points Race specialist Gina Grain. Not far behind the place getters was Univega's local star, Emma Rickards, with team mate Priska Doppmann rounding out the Women's podium.

Neale Adams solo attack at two to go wasn't successful, with the C Grade race also decided by a bunch sprint. John Pritchard led out along the left hand barriers, but the fastest finishers chose the right side or the wide finishing straight, with Dean Stewart judging things best to take the win ahead of Nick Panou and Simon Frost. Gemma Goyne will be headed back to B Grade soon with a clear win in the women's section, ahead of consistent second place finisher Kerrie Howard (Fitzroy) and Louise Bourke.

Neil Choi came close to his maiden win in the D Grade sprint, but couldn't hold off the late charge from Jarrod Anderson. Another of the new riders, Ian Wolters, sprinted into third place, while the Women's race went to Melissa Nicholls from Anni Jensen (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) and Kerrie McCredden (Le Knicks).

With Inexa Race Frames Summer Series leader Tommy Nankervis unable to sprint for the win, Michael Vogt's fourth place finish in C Grade was enough to move him into the lead by a single point. Kerrie Howard continues to head the Women's leader board.

Carnegie Caulfield's twice weekly Criteriums are on Sunday mornings and Tuesday evenings. Sundays are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2) with new start times for 2006: B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 62 starters
1 Nick Walker (Brunswick)                     
2 Adrian Salter (Footscray)                   
3 Vaughan Bowman (Blackburn)                  
4 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)          
5 Phil Indivino (Italo Australian)            
6 Aiden McInernay (Ballarat/Sebastapol)       
B Grade, 55 minutes + 2 laps, 68 starters
1 Sam Salter (Footscray)                      
2 Sean Bourke (Blackburn)                     
3 Nick Palecek (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Gina Grain (Canada)                         
5 Wayne Andrew (New Zealand)                  
1 Gina Grain (Canada)                         
2 Emma Rickards (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)               
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 42 starters
1 Dean Stewart (Coburg)                       
2 Nick Panou (Blackburn)                      
3 Simon Frost (Blackburn)                     
4 Michael Vogt (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Kerrie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Louise Bourke (Blackburn)                   
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 36 starters
1 Jarrod Anderson (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Neil Choi (Carnegie Caulfield)              
3 Ian Wolters (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Daryl Beovic (St Kilda)                     
1 Melissa Nicholls (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Anni Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)           
3 Kerrie McCreddin (Chelsea & Peninsula)