Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

February 12, 2006

Robinson to the fore

Ian Robinson burst onto the cycling scene with a solid win in the 36km handicap race last Sunday. Robinson rode off the six and a half minute bunch and combined well with the other six riders in his bunch to hold off the scratch riders of Luke Dale and Gavin Drury.

Phil Jones continued to show the labours of the training he has been putting in to be one of the driving forces in the winning bunch. Dave Morris, Peter Evans and Anthony Kneipp were also big contributors. In his first road race with the Club Alan Kerr slotted right in and was strong.

It was though that the three and a half minute bunch looked like the winning bunch but they had no answer to the pace being set at the head of the race.

Dale and Drury buried their heads and didn't take long till they caught the block bunch. The combined group worked well with Mark Davis, Grant Law and Bill McLatchie all contributing.

On the final lap it looked like the scratchies would get up but the leaders never gave up and they crossed the line only thirty six seconds ahead of Dale and Drury. Dale's fastest time of 51:02:35 is one of the fastest times for the course.

Next week's events are 36km scratch races.

Club president Adrian White said riders and the public should come along to Haywards Bay for the Thursday twilight criteriums starting at 5:30pm for some exciting racing with $240 prize money divided over three grades.


1 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)    56.57
2 Philip Jones (Illawarra)         
3 Peter Evans (Illawarra)          
4 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)            
5 Carlo Paiola (Illawarra)         
6 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)       
7 David Morris (Illawarra)         
8 Luke Dale (Illawarra)            
9 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)