Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

West Coast Masters Cycling

Wangara, WA, February 5, 2006

By Mel Davies

Another well attended race run in excellent conditions with temperatures in the high 20's. Again, lots of new faces among the 68 starters that helped breathe life into the bunches. A grade with 18 riders was hotly contested from the word go and as well as some blistering attacks there was a great deal of surging that made the race even more painful for the competitors. In a closely contested sprint Doug Stewart again proved his prowess when beating Wayne Thompson and Dave Townson across the line, with Paul Moke who had done much of the 'driving' during the race finishing in close contention for fourth. So close together were Gary Collett and Dom Bruehwiler, tit required the camera to determine their placings.

Largest field of the day was in B grade, where 22 riders rode their hearts out in a fast and furious event. There were a number of hard attacks on the 'rise'. Grant Alexander and Barry Whiting looked dangerous around the 30-minute mark, Keith Winch and Mike Watson with less than 10 minutes to go, and Brian Farrelly on the final couple of laps. However, the finish was again decided in a bunch sprint, and despite his earlier efforts it was Brian Farrelly who took the verdict over Keith Winch and Barry Whiting, the remainder of the money prizes going to Lee Parker, Ed Campbell, Dale Commach and Dave Bebee in that order.

Among the best performances of the day were those by Bruce Bussey and Mike Bonner who broke away after a few laps to almost lap the field. Mike Bonner really surprised, for as a rider new to the sport he had hung off the back of the bunch for the previous three races - but obviously a quick learner he put everything together at Wangara to put in an excellent performance that impressed the handicapper among others! In the bunch sprint, Bob Stephens showed his strength by holding off Steve Marks and his old adversaries Trev Robson, Bill Crout and Roy Swift in what was a closely contested fight to the line. Unfortunately the camera decided to have a hiccup, so only the first seven places were recorded.

The eleven riders in D grade were in attacking mood. Early antagonists were Brian Paxman and Sheona Clark but 'man-of-the-match' award went to Tony Speechley who proved his recent rides in the English Pennines paid dividends when he soloed away to his first ever victory with the club. Tony finished a good 300 metres ahead of the bunch that was led out by the oldest man in the race, 78-year old Ray Craig who used his Kiwi cunning to hold off Lindsay Froyland and Leo Enright for the cash prizes.


A Grade - 50 mins + 2 laps
1 Doug Stewart                 
2 Wayne Thompson               
3 Dave Townson                 
4 Paul Moke                    
5 Garry Collett                
6 Dom Bruehwiler               
7 Ian McFall                   
8 Bryan Williams               
9 Alan Clark                   
10 Steph Ratcliffe             
11 Wal Crowley                 
12 Paul Hearne                 
13 Rob Suter                   
14 Graeme Muston               
15 Phil Johnston               
16 Jim Gibson                  
17 Russell Fulton              
18 George Miller               
B Grade - 45mins + 2 laps
1 Brian Farrelly               
2 Keith Winch                  
3 Barry Whiting                
4 Lee Parker                   
5 Ed Campbell                  
6 Dale Commach                 
7 Dave Bebee                   
8 Mario Librizzi               
9 Trev Holmes                  
10 Mark Leaker                 
11 Gavin Brown                 
12 Dereck McVickers            
13 Ian Logan                   
14 Grant Alexander             
15 Clint Bird                  
16 Mike Watson                 
17 Frans Karel                 
18 Steve Illich                
19 Steve Rouse                 
20 Steve Dodd                  
21 Rick Churchill              
C Grade - 40mins + 2 laps
1 Mike Bonner                  
2 Bruce Bussey                 
3 Bob Stephens                 
4 Steve Marks                  
5 Trev Robson                  
6 Bill Crout                   
7 Roy Swift                    
D Grade - 35mins + 2 laps 
1 Tony Speechley               
2 Ray Craig                    
3 Lindsay Froyland             
4 Leo Enright                  
5 Paul Crespi                  
6 Denis Robinson               
7 Brian Paxman                 
8 Sheona Clark                 
9 Frank Kettle                 
10 Des Williams                
11 Heather Sanderson           

Local results 2004