Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

NSW, February 5, 2006

The two-man TT: race of lies

If the individual time trial is regarded as the 'race of truth', the two-man time trial is regarded as the 'race of lies'. For a start you blame your partner if you don't win, because he didn't do his job. And how can you have a two-man TT if your partner is a female? And then there was Joe Chiaverini's funny hat... how can you believe someone that wears a helmet like that?

Tim Morris continued his winning form. This time partnering with 'C-grader' (handicapper please take note) Bill McClatchie, the pair rode a 26'15 over a minute quicker than second place pairing of Hans Battaerd and Tony Sampson. Third place getters Luke Dale and Loenie Aisbett would have placed between those two teams if Luke hadn't ridden the last kilometre on a deflated (completely flat) front tyre. Some people will do anything to get attention. Luke has tried falling off every way possible.

Closest finish time of the day was between Chiaverini/Pulo pair and Joyce/Bennet combo. They were separated by just 22 hundredths of a second. Judges originally had the Chiaverini team placed behind the Joyce team until the rule book was checked. Timing devices should be activated when the second rider's front wheel crosses the line not when the back of helmet crosses over the line.

Results, 18.5km

1 William McClatchie (Illawarra)    26.16
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)                 
2 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)          1.09
2 Tony Sampson (Illawarra)               
3 Leonie Aisbett (Illawarra)         0.03
3 Luke Dale (Illawarra)                  
4 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)           0.19
4 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)                
5 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)           1.06
5 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)             
6 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)         1.12
6 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                  
7 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)            1.12
7 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)              
8 Arron Hull (Illawarra)             1.29
8 Alan Vucko (Illawarra)                 
9 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)       2.28
9 Tony Burke (Illawarra)                 
10 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)       2.38
10 Con Karlis (Illawarra)                
11 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)       2.44
11 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)         
12 Mark Davis (Illawarra)            2.58
12 Megan Wilkie (Illawarra)              
13 Phil Ciufo (Illawarra)            3.23
13 Joe Williams (Illawarra)              
14 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)             3.41
14 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)            
15 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)           3.44
15 David Morris (Illawarra)              
16 Sarah Whipp (Illawarra)           6.02
16 Vincent O'Dwyer (Illawarra)