Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

Victoria, Tuesday December 12, 2006

Perfect conditions greeted the riders for this week's Criterium. The averages for the nights racing ranged from 28km/hr to a whopping 38km/hr with every grade attempting to conserve energy and stay as a bunch for the majority of the 30-45minutes of racing.

A grades top spot battle continued with Stevens and MacKirdy finishing in the tightest sprint yet. Hamish MacKirdy came charging down the final straight to take out second place, a hairs width behind winner Lee Stevens. Matthew Benson, Angus Boase and Chris Stevens had their own sprint contest, urging their legs to keep spinning until they were over the line to round out the top five spots.

B Grades line up included former C Grade riders Peter Evans, Ruth Strout and Peter Weston. Averaging 35km/hr the group managed to stay as a bunch until the bell lap where Bob Pankhurst made the most of his racing experience to out sprint Lara MacKirdy and Greg Hatcher.

C Grades Aron Woosnam claimed another victory this week ahead of second place Michael Anderson and third place Wayne Woosnam. Much like the other grades, conserving energy was the best policy. Angelo Ylia and John Eshman had the group together for much of the race before the final lap adrenalin kicked in, relegating them to 5th and 7th overall.

Ralph Anderson claimed second for D Grade behind Kade Boase who surprised Anderson by successfully racing past his blind side. Veteran rider, Gordon Lawton finished his thirty plus minutes in third place with a 28km/hr average.

As the members keep growing, so do the skills and speed of the Riverland Cycling Club riders. All levels are catered for, ranging from A through D grade, rider mentoring is always available from current competitors for new riders prepared to listen to words of wisdom. Visit to find out how to get involved.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Janelle Stevens


A Grade (Av 38km/h)
1 Lee Stevens           
2 Hamish MacKirdy       
3 Matthew Benson        
4 Angus Boase           
5 Chris Stevens         
6 Mick Gray             
7 Nigel Willoughby      
B Grade (Av 35km/h)
1 Bob Pankhurst         
2 Lara MacKirdy         
3 Greg Hatcher          
4 Peter Evans           
5 Ruth Strout           
6 Peter Weston          
C Grade (Av 32km/h)
1 Aron Woosnam          
2 Michael Anderson      
3 Wayne Woosnam         
4 Glen O'Brien          
5 Angelo Ylia           
6 Janine Webb           
7 John Eshman           
D Grade (Av 28km/h)
1 Kade Boase            
2 Ralph Anderson        
3 Gordon Lawton         

Local results 2006