Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums, Tuesday December 12, 2006

By Mal Sawford

Tony Mann
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

After last week's strong northerly wind, it was back to the more typical breeze from the south on another fine Melbourne evening. Another great field of over 220 riders rolled out, including a record 80 starters for A Grade. With new T-Mobile recruit Greg Henderson and fifth place finisher from the Surfers Paradise GP, Tony Mann (Coast Cylery) joining the locals, the pace promised to be hot!

The opening pass over the long drag up the back straight quickly had the bunch strung out in a very long single file line, with Henderson among the early pace setters. Last week's winner, Peter Barnett (SHM Cycles) and Pip Grinter (Drapac-Porsche) were the first to open a gap, but once they were reeled in Grinter joined a move containing Mann, Daniel Johnston (Merida), South pair Simon Clarke and Michael Ford, Danny Kah, Lachlan Stewart, Michael Downing and Vaughan Bowman (Le Tour Cycles) after twenty minutes.

The break combined well, and although never more than twenty second clear, was able to hold off the chasers. Downing was the first to succumb to the pace, with Grinter and Johnston also losing contact in the final laps, leaving six riders to fight out the win. Mann was a clear winner in the dash to the line, with Bowman overhauling Clarke in the final metres to claim second.

Danny Kah swings off
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

For most of their fifty-five minutes, the B Grade race looked like coming down to a bunch sprint, with an early attack from Martin Bole and Paul McMullan (Datacom-Burnley Finance) quickly chased down. Ray Turner (Bianchi) and Gary Trowell escaped with fifteen minutes remaining, but were only able to stay clear for a single lap. Russell Newnham (Pro-Motion Bicycles) and Luke Stork had more luck with an attack at two to go, and were still clear at the bell.

A small group containing Trowell, Ben Williams (Bicycle Superstore), Turner, Drew McDonald, Tony Mason and Haydn Kerr bridged on the final lap, with Turner leading the group into the finishing straight. Trowell too quick in the dash to the line, however, with Mason was next best, ahead of McDonald and Williams. Tess Downing (Drapac-Porsche) took the women's win in a two-up sprint with Nicole Whitburn (Mainline Cycles), after the women's contingent was decimated by a mid race fall that put Sophie Ruderman (Team FBUK), Briana James (The Freedom Machine) and Amy Hallihan (Specialized) out of the race.

Both C and D Grades were decided with bunch sprints. Josh Mackley was fasted in C Grade, holding off Stuart Payne and Oliver Le Grice (O'Mara Cycles), while Debbie Hobbs (Fitzroy Cycles) claimed the women's win ahead of Bridgett Farrell (Kennedy Cycles) and Melissa Kah.

Stephen Thompson and Steven Wruck were the first two home in D Grade with impressive first rides that will see them straight to C Grade. David Ward and Michael Boyce (SHM Cycles) filled the minor places and junior rider Shannon McCurley won the ladies race from Annie Jensen and Denise Bennett (Datacom-Burnley Finance).

D Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. Twilight racing at Sandown Raceway is held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown International Raceway. Entry is via the Sandown Road gate from 6pm (Melways map 80 B6), with racing starting at 6.30pm for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2007 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. Returning riders must resume in the grade in which they last raced, unless prior arrangements are made with the handicapper.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade (1 hour, 80 starters)
1 Tony Mann (Queensland)                   
2 Vaughan Bowman (Blackburn)               
3 Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Michael Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)        
5 Lachlan Stewart (Ararat)                 
6 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)           
B Grade (55 minutes, 61 starters)
1 Gary Trowell (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Tony Mason (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Drew McDonald (Footscray)                
4 Ben Williams (Carnegie Caulfield)        
5 Haydn Kerr (St Kilda)                    
1 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Nicole Whitburn (Warragul)               
3 Nikki Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)      
C Grade (50 minutes, 42 starters)
1 Joshua Mackley (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Stuart Payne (St Kilda)                  
3 Oliver Le Grice (Carnegie Caulfield)     
4 George Greenall (Mornington)             
1 Debbie Hobbs (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Bridgett Farrell (Carnegie Caulfield)    
3 Melissa Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)         
D Grade (45 minutes, 41 starters)
1 Stephen Thompson (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Steven Wruck (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 David Ward (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Michael Boyce (Carnegie Caulfield)       
1 Shannon McCurley (Latrobe City)          
2 Annie Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)       
3 Denise Bennett (Carnegie Caulfield)      

Local results 2006