Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Twilight Series - Tuesday December 5, 2006

By Mal Sawford

Justin Davis leads the chase
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Until this event the wind at Sandown has blown mainly from the south. Instead, a hot northerly greeted riders, with the temperature still around 35 degrees for the 6.30 pm start, which made the slog up the climb to the Falken bridge tough enough, but it was the tail wind leg down the main straight that had many riders in trouble early on.

The A grade bunch split in the opening laps, with a group of 17 powering away, including Peter Barnett, Brendan Rowbotham, Anthony Smith, Andrew Stalder, Doug Garley, Frank Cipriano, Michael Downing, Matt Jensen and Jono Lovelock.

With the bunch showing no sign of getting organised, it was clear that the winner would come from the lead group. Barnett and Rowbotham in particular were determined to reduce the numbers in contention.


D Grade tackle the long drag up the back straight
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Barnett eventually broke clear with Stalder, and took the win after the pair built a thirty second advantage. Next home were strongmen Smith and Matt Chessum, followed a few seconds later by Roy Clark. Chris Tymms picked up the final prize after an impressive chase from the bunch with Justin Davis.

The B Grade bunch stayed largely intact until the final two laps, when Martin Bole and Nick Palecek broke clear. They were joined soon after by Bruce Will, Michael Vogt, Steel Van Hoff and Daniel Doherty. Bole couldn't hold the pace for the hectic final lap, with the win going to the A Grade bound Van Hoff from Vogt and Palecek. Nikki Matthews led the women home, ahead of long term Irish visitor Jenny Fay and Mary Rogers.

After the early C Grade break by John Pritchard, Debbie Hobbs, Adam Pyke, Aaron Pitt and Nathan Pearson was neutralized, it looked like Ross Jones would steal the race with a strong solo effort. Jones was well clear at the bell, but a huge chase from Pitt saw him overhaul Jones in the final metres to snatch the win. Former world masters champion Hobbs took the ladies win ahead of Jessica Sloane.

Trent Brown, Michael Vogt and Clive Hickey
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

The windy conditions saw a rare break succeed in D Grade. Ike Collings kept Jay Heather, Paul Carnibella and Stuart Payne working well together ensuring the break's success. But it was Payne who unleashed the strongest sprint to take the win from Heather, with Carnibella inches ahead of Collings, who settled for fourth. In a very tough evening for the women, Zoe Bloore was the last to lose contact with the rapidly diminishing chase group and took the women's win.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford



A Grade 

1 Peter Barnett (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Roy Clark (Carnegie Caulfield)
6 Chris Tymms (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade 
1 Steel Van Hoff (Chelsea & Peninsula)
2 Michael Vogt (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Nick Palecek (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Bruce Will (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Daniel Doherty (Brunswick)

1 Nikki Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Jenny Fay (Ireland)
3 Mary Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield)
C Grade 
1 Aaron Pitt (Mornington)
2 Ross Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 John Pritchard (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Robert Doyle (Carnegie Caulfield)

1 Debbie Hobbs (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Jessica Sloane (Hawthorn)
D Grade 
1 Stuart Payne (St Kilda)
2 Jay Heather (MTBA)
3 Paul Carnibella (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Ivan Collings (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Zoe Bloore (Carnegie Caulfield)

Local results 2006