Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel Districts Cycling Club

Time Trial & Criterium series - Monday December 4, 2006

In the Peel Districts midweek Time Trial Series, Dave Berglund and Richard Woods came in under 25mins and Phil Diesel claws back valuable points on overall leader Joe Cox. Berglund handled the blustery conditions well to record a 24min 54sec ride, 28 sec under his previous best time and Woods was pleased stopping the clock on 24min 47sec for the 16km ride.

Diesel (53pts) currently in 2nd spot overall gained valuable points on Joe Cox (58pts) with two races remaining in the series. Mark Roberts (36pts) is in third place after recording 23min 35sec, in fourth spot on 34pts, Ron McArthur was just outside the 27min mark. Consistent times and solid rides from Phil Edwards, Tony Van Merwyk and Peter Moyses see them on 25pts each.

In the Criterium series, Raymond Loly recorded his first win in A Grade. The group was immediately under the pump with club member Peter Dawson, Athens Gold Medallist, leading the charge. Laurie Longworth and Steve Ware struggled with the pace while Phil Diesel, Blair Lasenby and Mark Roberts lost contact late in the 50min event. Loly a promising youngster stayed with Dawson to then narrowly take line honours. Diesel held out Lasenby for second while Roberts finished fourth.

B Grade saw the pack break up early with Brad Hunt, Andy Bennett and Brian Buck leading the charge. Kylie and Fiona Hansen felt the pinch as Hunt pressed on for his first win of the series. Bennett was strong in the home straight to holdout Buck for second and Slocombe for fourth.

Barry Hansen continued his good form with another strong performance in C Grade. Tom Atkinson got it together to hold out Wade Longworth for second and Phil Edwards led Stan Baker and Bob Norton in to finish fourth.

The club welcomes new members for more information go to or call 9581 6613


Race #8 Time Trial
Dave Berglund                 24.54
Richard Woods                 24.47
Tony van Merwyk               30.39
Phil Deisel                   23.03
Steve Ware                    25.44
Phil Edwards                  30.07
Joe Cox                       27.27
Ron McArthur                  27.06
Mark Roberts                  23.35
Hal Burdon                    33.04
Kathryn Hookham               32.27
Peter Moyses                  31.16
Race #4 Criterium
A Grade, 50 minutes
1 Raymond Loly
2 Peter Dawson
3 Phil Deisel
4 Blair Lasenby
5 Mark Roberts
6 Steve Ware
B Grade, 40 minutes
1 Brad Hunt
2 Andy Bennett
3 Brian Buck
4 Paul Slocombe
5 Kylie Hansen
6 Fiona Hansen  
C Grade, 30 minutes
1 Barry Hansen
2 Tom Atkinson
3 Wade Longworth
4 Phil Edwards
5 Stan Baker
6 Bob Norton
7 Tony van Merwyk
8 Murray Coombs

Local results 2006