Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Club Road Championships, Sunday December 3, 2006

Ocvirk takes title in Cliffhanger

The rain held off for the running of the Illawarra Cycling Club B and C grade club road championship held on Sunday. In the C grade event Peter Evans road strongly on the first lap, splitting the bunch over the railway bridge hill. Vince O’Dwyer was the only one to hang on, while Paul Kaye did a great job in bridging across on the flat. Jenni Vaughan-Floyd was left with an impossible task to regain the leaders when Nicky Joyce had to pull out due to a mechanical failure.

The last lap again saw Evans increase the pressure, riding away solo for a clear victory from O’Dwyer in second. Jenni’s persistence paid off with a third place after Kaye had to stop to repair a puncture.

The B Grade event saw an epic breakaway start early in the race with Joe Pereira and Dave Russell leaving the comfort of the bunch. They soon opened up a one minute gap with the lethargic bunch struggling to organise a consistent chase. At the halfway mark Russell continued to ride strongly, dropping Pereira on the Marshall Mount climb. In the bunch, strong riding by Roger Ocvirk, Neil Midgley, Dan McNamara and Joe Chiaverini kept the break in sight and within one minute.

With 15 km remaining Russell still had 40 seconds of his lead intact and he was intent on not letting the 14 riders behind catch up. Despite his best efforts Russell was caught 100m from the line, with Ocvirk putting in a superb sprint to tack victory ahead of Adam Le Serve and Mick O’Neill.

Next weeks racing includes track racing on Thursday night for road bikes starting at 6pm and Friday night for track bikes at 7pm. Next Sunday’s road race is a 36km graded handicap at Huntley.


C Grade - 37.5km
1 Peter Evans (Illawarra)         1.10.27
2 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)        2.13
3 Jenni Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)    6.43
4 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)              7.54
5 Nicole Joyce (Illawarra)               
B Grade - 56.0km
1 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)        1.33.30
2 Adam Le Serve (Illawarra)              
3 Michael O`Neill (Illawarra)            
4 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)               
5 Dan McNamara (Illawarra)               
6 David Russell (Illawarra)              
7 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)           0.14
8 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)               
9 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)             
10 Alex Verdi (Illawarra)                
11 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)            
12 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)            0.27
13 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)        0.37
14 Jeff Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)    0.42
15 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)       1.30
DNF  Tony Pulo (Illawarra)               

Local results 2006