Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

Dapto, NSW, September 17, 2005

In near cyclonic conditions twenty two riders took part in the two person 18km time trial at West Dapto last Saturday afternoon. Several riders recorded speeds of over 60km with the tail wind on their way to Marshall Mount on the first leg of the race, their return speed was considerably less.

Probably every rider was thinking what were they doing there. Guest handicapper, Jenny Davis, assisted in seeding the pairs into their anticipated time, from slowest to fastest. Only three teams' times were different from the expected results. Limit riders Aaron Terechovs and Stephen Phillips rode extremely well to finish ninth in 36:22.88.

As the teams came in the times were slowly improving, as foreseen. The first substantially improved time was Frank Soto and Frank Tortorici, but frankly that was expected. Their time of 30:52:24 was two and a half minutes better than the previous best time. They had to wait for the last three teams to come in to see if they had done enough to take the win.

Next team home was Tim Morris and James Greathead, as they entered the finishing straight it looked like they might post the best time but the headwind in the home straight was too strong for them and they fell short by 15 seconds in 31:07.94.

Hans Battaerd and Dave Russel were one of the favourites and they didn't disappoint. It came down to the last few meters but they too just missed out by 6 seconds, stopping the clock in 30:58:39. The overall result was Soto & Tortorici from Battaerd & Russel and Morris & Greathead.

Masters 6 rider Lionel Covington, wasn't perturbed by the tough conditions, teamed up with Richard Lorenc and beat many of the much younger riders home by recording the fifth fastest time. There is no local race next weekend due to the Southern Highlands Interclub race. The following weekend will mark the start of the summer program with racing changing over to Sunday mornings.


1 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)     30.52
1 Frank Soto (Illawarra)               
2 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)        0.06
2 David Russell (Illawarra)            
3 Tim Morris (Illawarra)           0.09
3 James Greathead (Illawarra)          
4 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)    1.33
4 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire)     
5 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)       2.35
5 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)         
6 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)           3.22
6 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)          
7 Jenny Davis (Illawarra)          4.27
7 Mark Davis (Illawarra)               
8 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)        4.41
8 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)            
9 Aaron Terechovs (Illawarra)      5.24
9 Stephen Phillips (Illawarra)         
10 Joe Williams (Illawarra)        5.54
10 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)          
11 Tony Burke (Illawarra)          6.24
11 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)          

Local results 2004