Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Riverland Cycling Club

Monash, South Australia, November 29, 2005

Another successful night of criterium racing was held at Monash on Tuesday night. Nineteen Riverland Cycling Club members turned up for what was a night of great racing, with Hamish and Lara MacKirdy both taking out wins in A grade and B grade respectively.

The A grade race saw the group produce a 38.5 km/h average due to all riders being in good form. The group worked together for the entire time with the exception of a massive surge from Lee Stevens after 30 minutes of racing. Stevens was soon reeled back in by Hamish MacKirdy, Josh Steele and Nigel Willoughby. In the end it came down to a final sprint between MacKirdy and Stevens, with MacKirdy again showing great speed to win by half a wheel from Stevens. Steele came in next for third place.

In B grade, another showing of MacKirdy strength had Lara MacKirdy out-sprint her rivals to win a dramatic race. The bunch kept close to each other as anyone one of the six riders had the potential and form to win. Drama unfolded midway through the race with Peter Weston clipping his pedals against the road around a corner and coming off. Weston did well to get back up and rejoin the race bearing the wounds of the fall. The fall unsettled some of the riders but it didn't dent the determination MacKirdy who had the strength to finish first in front of Mick Grey (second) and Greg Hatcher (third). In a display of courage Weston came over the line in fourth.

The C grade and D grade race didn't have the drama of the B grade, but produced good wins for Ben Vagnarelli (C grade) and Barry Trewren (D grade). Vagnarelli comfortably won a final sprint from the rapidly improving Elton Reimann (second) and ever consistent Ruth Strout (third). Angelo Ylia came through in fourth followed by Simon Woods in his first criterium race. The D grade race again came down to a sprint with Trewren proving too strong for John Eshmann (second) and Bob Pankhurst (third).

A special congratulations must also go out to Hamish MacKirdy who competed in the South Australian state open track championships in Adelaide on the weekend. Hamish came away from the championships with two bronze medals, firstly in the individual pursuit in a time of 5:01:38, and also in the scratch points race held over 160 laps (40km). Mechanical problems in the points race hindered MacKirdy's chance at gold.


A Grade
1 Hamish MacKirdy     
2 Lee Stevens         
3 Josh Steele         
4 Nigel Willoughby    
B Grade 
1 Lara MacKirdy       
2 Mick Grey           
3 Greg Hatcher        
4 Peter Weston        
5 Amanda Steele       
C Grade
1 Ben Vagnarelli      
2 Elton Reimann       
3 Ruth Strout         
4 Angelo Ylia         
5 Simon Woods         
6 Mark Kershaw        
D Grade
1 Barry Trewren       
2 John Eshman         
3 Bob Pankhurst       
4 Gordon Lawton       

Local results 2004