Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Norwood Cycling Club

Regency Park, South Australia, November 22, 2005

What a night of racing with a marvellous star studded field in A Grade which included our home grown talent, Norwood Cycling Club's Luke Roberts from CSC. You only have to look at the placings to see what sort of race it was. There were mini attacks from the start, but with the likes of Roberts and Russell van Hout staying in the main pack they were bought back with ease. Roberts would lead the main pack and with such smooth pedalling style bring the pack back to any break. Stephen Cunningham tried a trademark solo break just before the finish, and then another small group attacked, led by Chris Jongewaard grimacing with the effort but couldn't get away. It all came down to a mass bunch sprint with a fight to the line by Mat Rex and Brett Aitken with Rex pushing forward to win by a wheel. Jongewaard finished in third but was relegated out of the placings due to an altercation in the sprint, which caused a number of riders to come down at 60km/h.

A very smooth ride from the B Grade bunch with Andrew Roe and Damon Stefani making a good effort to break away but unfortunately with a fall in C Grade at the finish of their race, B Grade was neutralised with two laps to go. The race was re-started with the breaks gap, but the bunch sprinted across to them for an all up bunch with a lap to go. Pat Marcucci on a good comeback this year took the win with ease making it two in a row and heading back to A Grade.

Ben Tkalic has taken out his second win in C Grade with ease and style and will now be heading to B Grade. There are also two very impressive riders who are making the grade in Tom Middleton and Tiffany Cromwell. They are both reading their races very well and position themselves perfectly in the sprints. With Cromwell's high placing in C Grade it's the best placing a female rider has ever had in a South Australian open criterium. She should do well racing in the Victorian Bay series criteriums.
If you want to see the best bike riders SA has to offer come and see them racing at the Norwood Cycling Club Regency Park criteriums.


A Grade
1 Mat Rex (Norwood CC, SASI, Bicycle Express)                  
2 Brett Aitken (Adelaide CC, Avanti Bicycles)                  
3 Russell van Hout (Adelaide CC, Colombia Selle Italia)        
4 Luke Roberts (Norwood CC, CSC)                               
5 Nick Wood (Norwood CC, Savings & Loans Credit Union)         
B Grade
1 Pat Marcucci (Norwood CC, Mittiga, Norwood Parade Cycles)    
2 Darcy Bates (Adelaide CC)                                    
3 Matt Simpson (Norwood CC)                                    
4 Adrian Stevens (Norwood CC)                                  
5 Chris dos Santos (Norwood CC)                                
Preme sprint
1 Dale Rycroft (Norwood CC)                                    
C Grade
1 Ben Tkalic (Kilkenny CC)                                     
2 Tom Middleton (Norwood CC)                                   
3 Tiffany Cromwell (Norwood CC, Bicycle Express)               
4 Scott Swain (Norwood CC)                                     
5 Michael Kerin (Adelaide CC)                                  
Preme sprint
1 Matthew Hannan (Norwood CC)                                  
D Grade
1 Jeffery Schulz (Sturt Holdfast Marion CC)                    
2 Sam Warden (Norwood CC)                                      
3 Graeme Zucker (Central Districts CC)                         
4 John Kah (Adelaide CC)                                       
5 Craig Leinert (Pt Adelaide CC)                               
E Grade
1 Paul Hehir (Central Districts CC)                            
2 Jack Jezior (Adelaide CC)                                    
3 Dario Glavis (Adelaide CC)                                   
4 Steven Reichelt (Central Districts CC)                       
5 John Della (Noarlunga South Coast CC)                         

Local results 2004