Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Victoria, November 22, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Anthong Smith leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Ken Ford drives
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Pat Lane
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
D Grade winner Michael Sparke
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Three weeks in at Sandown, and rider numbers have almost doubled, with just under 200 riders on the start line. The increase in participation will see the club introduce an E Grade race for the remainder of the season, and in other exciting news, CCCC is pleased to announce that the 'Inexa Series' will kick off next week for the third season thanks to the generous support of Team Alex Australia, with full details of the impressive prize list to be released shortly.
The wind was from the south again and the promise of a tough night saw a record A Grade field assemble, with Barcelona Olympian Robert Crowe making a welcome return to CCCC racing after the best part of a year directing the new HLP team. 'Crowey' had snuck in a few races with the local Vets recently, including a win the previous week, but was finally ready to show the younger up and comers he is still a force to be reckoned with.

Sean Finning (VIS) kicked off his first race for the season with a typical early break, jumping away with Alex Smyth (Team UNO) and Mick Teggelove. Although claiming to be underprepared, Finning was clearly the driving force in the break, and when Matthew Speed (Richmond Cyclery) and Darren Lapthorne (MG-Xpower) closed the gap, he was the only survivor from the original trio fresh enough to go on with the attack.
The new trio lasted until the final four laps of the 3.2 kilometre circuit, and after a brief regrouping the huge field began to splinter under the strain of the constant counter attacks. Nathan Wise (Richmond Cyclery) and Daniel Nelms (Koln) jumped away on the climb, with Ross Mueller (Salter Cycles) closing the gap by the summit of the long drag.

During the next lap the three leaders were joined by Crowe, Richard England (VIS), Anthony Smith, Smyth, Guy Green (Le Tour), Jason Pastor, Michael Gill and Andrew Nicholls (Croydon Cycleworks), and pulled away to a twenty second lead at the start of the penultimate lap.
Nicholls shot off the front of the group at the base of the final climb, and held a fifty metre lead all the way to the final corner, before the stiff head wind in the finishing straight brought his bold move to an end 100 metres from glory. Mueller powered past, but couldn't hold off a fast finishing Crowe, with England finishing a few inches further back in third.

Dennis Bowen-Day tested the B Grade bunch with an usuccesful solo move early on, and newly promoted break away specialist Chris Beales (Cycle Science) and Rick Jones (Burnley Finance) also stretched their legs off the front. The bunch kept all the early moves in check before the winning move went clear, with Russell Newnham, Bruce Will, Luke Hanley and Paul Kelly (Burnley) combining well together.
In a nail biting finish, the quartet hung on to take the top four places by a few lengths from the hard charging bunch, with Kelly taking the win by half a wheel from Will. Young Tom Gallagher (Inexa) flew home to claim the final prize, while the women's Queen of the Mountain sprint saw Briana James (The Freedom Machine) benefit from a long lead out to hold off Jenny Macpherson (VIS) and Nicole Whitburn (Quick Cycle Coaching).

C Grade saw the only bunch sprint of the day, with Steve Brooks looking good fifty metres from home as he led along the left hand barriers. Unfortunately for Brooks, former track star Simon King (Peninsula Star) saw a sliver of daylight between Brooks and the Armco and flashed past to take the win, with Daniel Oldfield and Damien Jones (Hampton Cycles) filling the minor places.

The Women's hill sprint saw Catherine Allen (Giramondo) take the win from the front, with Michelle Murrell just holding off a determined final charge from Louisa Judd (Hampton).

Manuel Lawrence rode away from D Grade immediately after their two control laps, and built a commanding lead by the half way mark. With plenty of wise heads to control the tempo in the bunch, when the windy conditions began to slow the leader, he was quickly swept up. The bunch stayed together for the second half of the race, until an attack from Michael Sparkes at two to go went unanswered, giving him the win. In a very tight bunch sprint for second, Peter Walker got the verdict over Andrew Rose and Marshal Newman, with crowd favourite Jack Dovaston an unlucky fifth.
Rebecca Hanning took the mid-race Women's sprint in a virtual replay of the previous weeks drag race with Karin Coles, with first time racer Jen Ryan not far off in third place.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs every week until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades.
All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour
1 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Ross Mueller (Brunswick)                 
3 Richard England (Blackburn)              
4 Nathan Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)         
5 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)       
6 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)        
B Grade - 55 minutes
1 Paul Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Bruce Will (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Luke Hanley (Warragul)                   
4 Russell Newnham (Carnegie Caulfield)     
5 Tom Gallagher (Carnegie Caulfield)       
1 Briana James (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Jenny Macpherson (Carnegie Caulfield)    
3 Nicole Whitburn (Warragul)               
C Grade - 50 minutes
1 Simon King (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Steve Brooks (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Daniel Oldfield (Carnegie Caulfield)     
4 Damien Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)        
1 Catherine Allen (Carnegie Caulfield)     
2 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)            
3 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)         
D Grade - 50 minutes
1 Michael Sparke (Brunswick)               
2 Peter Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Andrew Rose (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Marshal Newman (Carnegie Caulfield)      
1 Rebecca Hanning (St Kilda)               
2 Karin Coles (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Jen Ryan (Carnegie Caulfield)            

Local results 2004