Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Central Coast Cycling Club

Ourimbah, NSW, November 20, 2005

Another good field of riders took to the fast hotmix surface at Ourimbah under grey skys. Conditions were ideal with a light breeze blowing and a cooler than normal temperature. It didn't take long for things to heat up though!

A Grade started with Laurence Van Schie opening up a 22 second lead on the first lap! He stayed away for the first quarter of the race before being swallowed up by the pack. Phil Thaux put in a couple of testing digs up the rise and then proceeded to blow the field away with a destructive display of power. He virtually halved the field on one lap and then rode away, never to be seen again.

B Grade was far more sedate, with every move covered by the small field. In the end it came down to the sprint and it was Michael Curren who had far too much strength for his rivals in his second B Grade race. Paul Worby and Brett McGinty (Lidcombe) tried hard to ride over the top of him but just didn't have the legs or timing to get the job done.

Vic Mosaert has become a force to be reckoned with in C Grade. He has been quietly accumulating good place finishes, and today he powered to a well earned win to be within striking distance of the leaders in the pointscore championship.

And it was a piece of master craftsmanship in D Grade, with veteran Mike Axton showing how to win a race in style. Never mind that he's a Masters 8 rider because the youngsters just didn't stand a chance.


A Grade - 50 mins + 2 laps
1 Phil Thaux (Central Coast)                
2 Elliot Stevens (Central Coast)            
3 Grant Fraser (Central Coast)              
4 Shane Scott (Kooragang)                   
B Grade - 45 mins + 2 laps
1 Michael Curren (Central Coast)            
2 Paul Worby (Central Coast)                
3 Brett McGinty (Lidcombe/Auburn)           
4 Eddy Butler (Central Coast)               
C Grade - 40 mins + 2 laps
1 Vic Mostaert (Central Coast)              
2 Peter Smits (Central Coast)               
3 Craig Gavin (Central Coast)               
4 Gavin Thomas (Central Coast)              
D Grade - 35 mins + 2 laps
1 Mike Axton (Central Coast)                
2 Nigel Knight (Central Coast)              
3 Phillip Campbell (Central Coast)          
4 Stefan Aveling (Central Coast)            
Club Pointscore
1 Craig Olsen                             27 pts
2 Chris James                             25
3 Vic Mostaert                            24
Grade Pointscores
A Richard Pettigrew (Central Coast) (20)    
  Shane Scott (Kooragang) (20)               
B Craig Olsen (Central Coast) (27)          
C Chris James (Central Coast) (25)          
D Nigel Knight (Central Coast) (21)         
E David Coman (Central Coast) (12)           

Local results 2004