Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Melbourne, November 15, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Matthew Speed
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
B Grade fly up the hill
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
D Grade winner Daniel Noy
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

The second week at Sandown saw over 150 riders arrive to battle a strong and cool southerly wind. While the southerly helps riders conquer the 800 metre climb up the back straight, the trade off is a very long, slow slog down the finishing straight which often spells the end for break aways.
Brendan 'Snowy' Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles) and Jason Pastor were the first to escape the A Grade bunch, and their group swelled to four when David Kemp (Merida) and week one winner Ross Mueller made contact. A few laps in the windy conditions proved enough for the bunch to close the gap, setting up an attack from David Sturt (Giant/Pro-Motion), Grant Matthews, Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles) and the appropriately named Matt Speed (Richmond Cyclery).

Rowbotham and dominant Vets rider Andrew Nichols joined the leaders midway into the hour, with comeback rider Michael Gill not far off the pace, but once again the long drag along the main straight allowed the bunch to chase up with around twenty minutes to go. A bit of a re-shuffle saw another small group a few seconds clear, with Daniel Nelms joining Garley, Kemp, Mueller, Nichols and Speed.
At two to go, the bunch made contact only to see Nichols kick again, taking with him Pilson (Fitzroy) and Vaughan Bowman (Le Tour Cycles). The trio held their ten second advantage at the bell, and looked to have pulled slightly away on the final climb, before Kemp launched out of the bunch just before the summit and made contact on the short descent. Making his way to second wheel at the final turn, the Queenslander seemed perfectly positioned to take the win after finishing second the week before, but found Bowman had too much in reserve, with the much improved local rider taking the win.

The B Grade race followed a similar pattern, with a number of breaks taking off into the head wind, only to have fresher legs claw back their advantage over the subsequent laps. The most threatening move saw Jason Theobald (O'Mara Cycles), Paul Kelly (Burnley Finance), Paul Logan, Neville Martin and Vito Depetro hold off the chase midway through, before four riders broke clear with ten minutes to race.
Bruce Will, Glen Wright, Glenn O'Rourke and Simon Vandestadt (Pro-Motion) were still twenty seconds clear at two to go, but were under pressure as the Burnley Finance boys took control of the chase. The four leaders survived to the final corner, but the last few hundred metres into the stiff breeze proved insurmountable, as a fresh Daniel Young finished the job for the Burnley Boys to take the win ahead of Vandestadt, with Glen Hutchinson (Salter Cycles) flashing home for his second successive third placing. The Queen of the Mountain Sprint saw Jenny Macpherson (AIS) make a strong move 100 metres from the line, but form rider Briana James (The Freedom Machine) closed quickly in the final metres to take the win.

Johnathan Claydon (Monash Uni) led out the C Grade bunch sprint strongly and jumped five lengths clear, before almost coming to a screaming halt as the headwind finish hit him like the proverbial brick wall. Daniel Oldfield left his run much later and hit the line at full speed - a fraction of a second too late, with Claydon hanging on by the barest of margins. Michelle Murrell took the mid-race QOM sprint from a determined Louisa Judd (Hampton Cycles).
After the pace lifted significantly over the final few laps, the D Grade bunch exploded on the final climb, as Daniel Noy made his move. The youngster had a clear lead onto the finishing straight, but had clearly spent his bikkies on the climb and looked anxiously over his shoulder as the chasers loomed. A last second throw saw him hang on to take the win, from a fast finishing Todd Spain, Jason McKinnon and Ross Black (Burnley Finance). The Women's prize went to Rebecca Hanning, who jumped away on the QOM climb, and was then able to respond to a late challenge from Karin Coles in the final metres.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs every week until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades.
All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour
1 Vaughan Bowman (Blackburn)                
2 David Kemp (Queensland)                   
3 Andrew Nichols (Mornington)               
4 Steve Pilson (Coburg)                     
5 Ross Mueller (Brunswick)                  
6 Leigh De Luca (Carnegie Caulfield)        
B Grade - 55 minutes
1 Daniel Young (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)     
3 Glen Hutchinson (Footscray)               
4 Andrew Rolland (Blackburn)                
5 Campbell Elliott (St Kilda)               
1 Briana James (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Jenny Macpherson (Carnegie Caulfield)     
3 Tess Downin (Carnegie Caulfield)          
C Grade - 50 minutes
1 Johnathan Claydon (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Daniel Oldfield (Blackburn)               
3 Terry Murdoch (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Danny Weatherley (Carnegie Caulfield)     
1 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)             
2 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Janine Donaldson (Footscray)              
D Grade - 50 minutes
1 Daniel Noy (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Todd Spain (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Jason McKinnon (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Ross Black (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Rebecca Hanning (St Kilda)                
2 Karin Coles (Carnegie Caulfield)           

Local results 2004