Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, November 13, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Katie Mactier
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
A well behaved B Grade bunch
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
What's all the commotion
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
The C Grade cheer squad
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Good fields, fine weather and great racing again at Glenvale Crescent, with the day marred only by a crash on the final corner of the A Grade race which saw promising Shepparton 16 year old Ricky Peoples (Inexa) slide out and hit the bitumen hard, head first. Fortunately, at the time of writing Peoples is on his way home from hospital, with a few stitches, lots of bandages and a nasty headache - we hope he'll be back racing soon.
The A Grade race was raced at an impressive pace for the duration, lapping the B Grade bunch three times. Consequently, there seemed little chance for a breakaway to succeed, but as usual there were plenty willing to try their luck. Back to his old tricks with an attack off the start line was Ray Turner (Bianchi), but the move didn't attract the necessary re-inforcements and 'Sugar' was quickly back in the fold.

Julian Dutton (BikeNOW), Nathan Wise (Richmond Cyclery) and Jason Pastor succeeded in holding a ten second advantage for a handful of laps soon after, while the other break of note featured former Australian Road Champion Robert Tighello (Richmond Cyclery), Chris Boone and Jeremy Childs (Pro-Motion). Leigh De Luca (Jamis) and David Sturt (Giant) tried hard to split things up in the closing stages, but spectators were treated to something of a rarity - a 60 rider A Grade bunch sprint.
Neither the judges nor the video could separate Tighello from Tasmanian track star Darren Young (TIS/cyclingnews), with breakaway specialist Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles) sprinting into third ahead of Dutton and Team UNO junior Leigh Howard. Katie Mactier produced another impressive performance, holding her place in the front half of the big field with ease.

Josh Morrison (Burnley Finance) and Sean Savage attacked the B Grade bunch ten minutes in, joined by Steve Morrow and Mark Kelly (The Freedom Machine). Morrison kept up his attacks after the group was reeled in, first joining Geoff Pyman and Simon Shaw (Nepean Cycles), and then Tom Blazevic and Adam Mulford at the half way mark, but couldn't shake off the determined bunch.
In the end, the sprinters also reigned in B Grade, with a clear win going to a rider on the comeback trail. Big Andrew Steele (Le Tour Cycles) looks headed back to A Grade very quickly after winning by a few lengths. On the other side of the road, Peter Zvedeniuk would have been a winner on any other day, with Trent Brown, Daniel Young (Burnley Finance) filling the minor places.

Peta Mullens (BikeNOW) returned to the track after a few weeks off to concentrate on VCE exams, and was straight back on the winners list, finishing ahead of team mate Gemma Goyne and Apryl Eppinger (VIS).
With an extensive fan club on the home straight, Marcus Schnell needed to impress, and was up to the challenge. After setting the pace in the early stages, Schnell jumped away at the thirty minute mark and held off the chase for three laps before he was swamped. Mountain biker Alister Stuart counter attacked and built up a handy lead which only came to an end as the bunch sensed the imminent call of "three to go".

In the dash to the line Anthony Peacock sprinted to his second win and a promotion to B Grade, while the minor places went to Clint Van Beveren, the consistent Michael Thomas and David James. Michelle Murrell just held off Andrea Bishop to take out the Women's section, with Melissa Kah and Louisa "there better not be an intermediate sprint" Judd close behind.

Completing the full set of bunch sprints, first timer Andrew Finster was too quick for the rest of the D Grade riders, leading home regular place getters Stuart Campbell and Todd Spain. Fiona Adler took the Women's win, and will move to C Grade, with Nana Jernstrom holding off Melissa Nichols by an inch for second place.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Tuesday evenings at Sandown, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am.
All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield)       
1 Darren Young (Tasmania)                    
3 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)     
4 Darren Young (Tasmania)                    
5 Lee Howard (Geelong)                       
6 Nathan Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)           
 Katie Mactier (Carnegie Caulfield)          
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Andrew Steele (Blackburn)                  
2 Peter Zvedeniuk (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Trent Brown (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Daniel Young (Carnegie Caulfield)          
5 Agostino Giramondo (Footscray)             
1 Peta Mullens (Latrobe City)                
2 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Apryl Eppinger (Carnegie Caulfield)        
C Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps
1 Anthony Peacock (Blackburn)                
2 Clint Van Beveren (Carnegie Caulfield)     
3 Michael Thomas (Blackburn)                 
4 David James (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)              
2 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Melissa Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)           
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Andrew Finster (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Stuart Campbell (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Todd Spain (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Rob McLellan (Carnegie Caulfield)          
1 Fiona Adler (Mornington)                   
2 Nana Jernstrom (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Melissa Nichols (Carnegie Caulfield)       
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Jess Stirling (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Christian Kelleher (Carnegie Caulfield)    
3 Aaron Eynaud (Blackburn)                   
4 Peter Vlahos (Blackburn)                    

Local results 2004